Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP?

I’m selling my two Graphics cards in my possession for a really good price (*FS*UK ONLY* HIS ICEQ X1950PRO 256MB & Sapphire X1550 256MB. FREE SHIPPING!!!) and seeing as though I don’t have an onboard graphics chip, I need a replacement until I get a new high end card and I don’t know when that will be.

If I get an S3 Savage 16MB PCI card off my mate (I was offered a GeForce 6600 but I turned that down) and install the drivers, will I be good to go? Has anyone heard anything about this card being bad or not working?

Also, when I took his old computer to pieces and saw the card, I wanted to take the heat sink off. So I pulled really hard and the heat sink came off but also the pins that were holding it in fell off as well.



It looked like that. (The heatsink not the card I know its not AGP dont flame me) Do you think that I can put thermal paste on and trust that it will adhere the heat sink and the chip together, or should I put a rubber band around the HS and PCB and hold it on that way? Is that a safe thing to do? Could it damage the card?

I know that this is a stupid question but I always like to make sure of things that I do to my computer that they aren’t going to damage it.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP?

It's old but it should work. I've personally ran the ATI Rage on XP and it works.
Thermal paste wont adhere the heatsink to the chip, you need thermal adhesive.
Newegg.com - Arctic Silver ASTA-7G (2-PC-SET) Premium Silver Thermal Adhesive - OEM
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP?

Something like this?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP?

That'll work, I guess.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP?

It should work fine on XP. may i ask why you turned a 6600 down? Also put some electricians tape around it if you are doubtful.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 08:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Will an S3 Savage 16MB PCI work in my system on XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
It should work fine on XP. may i ask why you turned a 6600 down? Also put some electricians tape around it if you are doubtful.
Yeah, why did you turn it down? it will KILL it cos it doesnt have a heatsink - wedging it back on MAY not give full contact with hte board, eventually overheating it! (i think...)

Your poor generous friend, he must be really upset you didnt want that 6600....its a really good offer, giving it to you for free as a stopgap....
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.