Will this ram work on my system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2009, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default Will this ram work on my system?

I have a dell Vostro 410. It comes with 3 GB of memory, two 1 GB sticks and two more 512 sticks. I plan to max it out at 4 GB. In my motherboard book it says, memory type 667-MHz 800-MHz DDR2 SDRAM, as being supported. Assuming the 800 MHz is the fastest ram I can get, would this ram Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory work well in my machine? I plan to leave in the two 1 GB sticks and just take the other 2 512 out. Thanks and sorry for the noob question
__________________

mattl148 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 04:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Will this ram work on my system?

Fix the link.

Do you know what speed your current RAM is?
__________________

95BlackGA is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Will this ram work on my system?

yep link still broken. If you do not know what RAM you have run cup-z to find out.
CPUID

Your RAM will only run as fast as your slowest stick installed.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

link fixed

heres a screenshot of CPU-Z ram http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/812/75073866.jpg.

Would this ram be a better choice? Newegg.com - Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
mattl148 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this ram work on my system?

Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

if you dont mind spending the extra money, just replace all of your ram with this stuff.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Will this ram work on my system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

if you dont mind spending the extra money, just replace all of your ram with this stuff.
Thanks a lot, I'll probably go with this. This upgrade will be alot faster than the stock ram that I have?
mattl148 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this ram work on my system?

yep, it will be a lot faster than your current ram.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 07:18 PM
My Hjt Log File! yoshi1476 HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 09-05-2008 08:06 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.