Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

Status
Not open for further replies.

dylmurhaha

Solid State Member
Hey. So I am not too good with computers, so I need some help on what to upgrade. I don't know which of my computer parts should be replaced. My goal is to smoothly be able to play Warhammer Online. Right now I am playing the open beta and it is, for the most part, very choppy; I have been unable to view my FPS, but I am assuming it is my end that is the problem.

Its requirements are as follows:
2.5 GHz P4 (single core) processor or equivalent
1 Gigabyte RAM
A 128 MB Video Card, with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
At least 15 GB of hard drive space

What I have:
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3200+
1 GB RAM (2 Slots of 512MB)
Radeon 9550 (128MB)
Asus K8V-MX

I don't know if my processor is decent enough. I have the bare minimum of RAM, as well as video card. My question is, what is most important to upgrade, and what is the cheapest thing I can do to upgrade? I was going to just add another GB of RAM, but my motherboard only has 2 slots. Would replacing a 512MB with a 1GB make an impact at all? Any suggestions would be appreciated (except for buying a whole new computer, don't have money for that haha)

Newegg.com - Patriot 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I've got a Asus K8V-MX motherboard-
I would be replacing my 512MB with a 1G, will that cause any significant difference?

hmm as long as your motherboard says it can handle DDR then yes.

So I assume your motherboard is over 2 years old.

It'll be fine since that board does support DDR1, but unless you have 512mb RAM or less RAM you really shouldn't be experiencing lag because of RAM, focus your money on the Video Card