Will this RAM work with my motherboard?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2008, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default

Hey. So I am not too good with computers, so I need some help on what to upgrade. I don't know which of my computer parts should be replaced. My goal is to smoothly be able to play Warhammer Online. Right now I am playing the open beta and it is, for the most part, very choppy; I have been unable to view my FPS, but I am assuming it is my end that is the problem.

Its requirements are as follows:
2.5 GHz P4 (single core) processor or equivalent
1 Gigabyte RAM
A 128 MB Video Card, with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
At least 15 GB of hard drive space

What I have:
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3200+
1 GB RAM (2 Slots of 512MB)
Radeon 9550 (128MB)
Asus K8V-MX

I don't know if my processor is decent enough. I have the bare minimum of RAM, as well as video card. My question is, what is most important to upgrade, and what is the cheapest thing I can do to upgrade? I was going to just add another GB of RAM, but my motherboard only has 2 slots. Would replacing a 512MB with a 1GB make an impact at all? Any suggestions would be appreciated (except for buying a whole new computer, don't have money for that haha)

Newegg.com - Patriot 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I've got a Asus K8V-MX motherboard-
I would be replacing my 512MB with a 1G, will that cause any significant difference?
__________________

dylmurhaha is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

hmm as long as your motherboard says it can handle DDR then yes.

So I assume your motherboard is over 2 years old.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

It'll be fine since that board does support DDR1, but unless you have 512mb RAM or less RAM you really shouldn't be experiencing lag because of RAM, focus your money on the Video Card
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

hmm.. well im trying to run warhammer online smoothly, but really i just want to run all games better. the min req. for the game is 1GB, and when i ran the game on the lowest video settings it still was all choppy.. but would a new video card help more than more ram? also, what would be a decent video card to buy that will work on my comp? (relatively low price range, 60bucks tops)

EDIT: Newegg.com - EVGA 256-A8-N341-LX GeForce 6200 256MB 64-bit DDR AGP 8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
is this a decent compatible vid card? also what does it mean if it is '64bit' as opposed to '128bit'

ive posted a thread, and a comment on an already existant relating thread, but no one answered.
dylmurhaha is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 02:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

In my experience with warhammer, it uses a Ton of ram. I get usage of over 1.3gig, so you should invest in some if you can.

Can you afford this?: Customer Reviews Of ASUS AH3650 SILENT/HTDI/512M Radeon HD 3650 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Retail

Otherwise get something like this: Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR X1650PRO 512M AGP Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

Will these graphics cards work? I thought my motherboard only took DDR mem, and these are GDDR2 (or does that not matter with vid cards?)

Now, I would rather buy the powercolor because that is the kind of price I'm looking for. But is the investment to get the more expensive one worth it? If it is, I may get it; I am just trying to go as cheap as possible, so if the other vid card is not significantly better I don't think I'll get it. But whats your opinion?

EDIT: The radeon x1650 has got some pretty bad reviews. I did some research on it and a lot of people complain that it works for a little bit and dies fast, ranging from 2months to a day... so I dont know about that one- any other cheap ones going around?

EDIT2: Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100175L Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards this look any good? I would just go with the one redmoon reccommended, but this ones got safe reviews, which is important to me (still looking cheaper though, this card is a little too much)
dylmurhaha is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

Even though the reviews are bad it still should be ok.

Go for this if you can afford it: Newegg.com - ASUS AH3650 SILENT/HTDI/512M Radeon HD 3650 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

I am going to go with the powercolor
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR X1650PRO 512M AGP Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Everyone who commented said there was something funky with the drivers. Can some one explain exactly what I am supposed to do to install the card? Do I uninstall drivers, then put in card, then install drivers, or whats up? I've never done this before.
dylmurhaha is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

1.Uninstall your previous cards drivers

2.Install your new card into the AGP slot

3.Install the latest drivers for the card : Drivers & Software
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 04:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Will this RAM work with my motherboard??

Alright thanks. I hope the video card doesn't crap out like a lot of people say :/. Also hope it makes the game run better without more RAM; cant afford both right now.

EDIT: read a comment that omegadrivers.net works well. Your opinion?
__________________

dylmurhaha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade CPU, Motherboard & RAM Azmaril System Upgrades 23 06-06-2008 02:38 AM
Ram Hussein19891 System Upgrades 1 06-04-2008 10:50 PM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) Higach Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-06-2008 02:06 AM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.