Will a Radeon HD 6950 2GB work ok on my system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Will a Radeon HD 6950 2GB work ok on my system?

My PSU and connectors are fine. I have a AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6 GHZ CPU, 8 GB RAM. I have a 22" Acer monitor running at 1680 X 1050.

The motherboard came with a HP desktop and is a ASUS M2N78-LA. I'm sure it's not the best for gaming but what I am mainly trying to figure out is if this video card will run well enough on my system, I don't want to buy a $250 card and get $150 performance.
Motherboard Specifications, M2N78-LA (Violet) - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

If my system creates a bottleneck what card should I look at to get my moneys worth?

Mr. LL is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica
Yami's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,438
Default Re: Will a Radeon HD 6950 2GB work ok on my system?

As long as it has a PCI-E x16 slot (it does) it will work fine.

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: Will a Radeon HD 6950 2GB work ok on my system?

will work perfectly.
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: Will a Radeon HD 6950 2GB work ok on my system?

Cool, now I just need to snag a used one on Ebay (If I can get a good deal)
Mr. LL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 6950 vs. 6970 SubFusion System Upgrades 2 10-28-2011 01:18 AM
Power Supply for an ATI Radeon HD 6950 Daja123 System Upgrades 1 09-30-2011 05:54 PM
Eyefinity with Radeon 6950 Triple Monitor The Python System Upgrades 1 06-11-2011 04:52 PM
Asus Radeon 6950 thekevin4 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-24-2011 12:07 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.