Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2010, 04:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

I am planning to replace my current 300W PSU for a better 450W PSU.

FRYS.com*|*Raidmax

My desktop is an 'hp a6010n' with the ATX-300GU. The reason I'm buying the new PSU is to upgrade to a higher wattage and be able to use my newly bought graphics card to its fullest potential. My graphic's card is this :

Newegg.com - ZOTAC ZT-95TEK2M-FSL GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

I'm just curious on if I can run my graphics card with the 'Raidmax Rhino Panther 450W ATX Power Supply' that I'm going to buy tomorrow. Please tell me if the power supply is good enough to run my graphics card with max settings with phsyx enabled. I want to be able to play modern games like Left for Dead 2 and Modern Warfare with max settings and phsyx enabled. Please reply. Thank you.
__________________

Kunta Kinte is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

I wouldn't put it in my computer, that's for sure. It is cheap for a reason.

Here's three alternatives that would do you good:
Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP350 350W ATX12V v2.01 Power Supply - Power Supplies

Newegg.com - FSP Group SAGA+ 400R 400W ATX12V Power Supply - Power Supplies

Newegg.com - Rosewill RV350 350W ATX 1.3 Power Supply - Power Supplies

I doubt the card will run them on max but it should do good. It won't be able to ender well and handle physx too.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

what trotter said about the psu. but as for maxing out those games with that gpu, not a chance. What res do u play at? although it does not really matter, even at 1280x1024 you would not be able to max those games out i dont think.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

Thanks for giving me some of that useful advice, but I will more wattage increase better performance?

Here are some PSU's i found on the internet.

FRYS.com*|*Antec

FRYS.com*|*Cooler Master

FRYS.com*|*Topower

FRYS.com*|*Apevia

Which one do you think will be best for my graphics card? And again, will higher wattage increase my gaming performance? Thanks.
Kunta Kinte is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 07:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

^what is wrong with any of the alternative that trotter posted? As well, no, higher wattage will not increase performance. By getting a higher wattage psu you can just use more power hungry hardware.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 07:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

no, it will do nothing to increase gaming performance.

out of those you listed, i would probably get the antec. it will handle that 9500gt with no problem at all.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will this PSU be okay to use for a new graphics card?

Thanks, I'll be getting the Antec Basiq 430watt. Thanks for helping me out guys.
__________________

Kunta Kinte is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help want to upgrade my graphics card counterfox System Upgrades 1 03-21-2010 12:04 PM
Can a new laptop graphics card cause the backlight on the screen to blow Shaun D Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-15-2010 07:35 PM
Buying a new Graphics card, and RAM issue LuDawg New Systems | Building and Buying 5 03-10-2010 11:25 AM
Graphics Card Display problem. Sketzii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-03-2009 04:36 PM
comp won't boot with graphics card connected pacificnana Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-09-2009 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.