Will this PSU be OK? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2006, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default Will this PSU be OK?

Would this PSU be ok for the XFX 7600GT, Hiper 435w, http://www.hipergroup.com/English/pr...hpu-4s435.html
I can't figure how many Amps i need on the 12V for the card. The PSU has 2 x 12v's at 16 Amps each.

Athlon 64 3200
K8N
2GB Memory

I can't find any info on the graphics card for AMPS needed.

Cheers
__________________

BOUNCINGNRG is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

if i'm not mistaken that card shouldn't need more than 28-30 amps on the 12v rails, so probably yes. did you try looking at the xfx website?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Yep, Looked all over it couldn't see anything on the Amp's.
THe link is http://www.xfxforce.com/web/product/...ationId=650010

Also would i connect both 12v rails to the Video Card, sorry i'm new to power supplies.
BOUNCINGNRG is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The 7600GT should be fine with 15-18 amps. The 7600GT doesn't use that much power so it gets all the power it needs from the PCI-E X16 slot.
turtile is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 04:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default

cool, but mine will be on a AGP
BOUNCINGNRG is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 06:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Its fine
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 06:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BOUNCINGNRG
cool, but mine will be on a AGP
It will only need one 4 pin molex for extra power.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.