Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2012, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

Ok, here's my current specs:

motherboard - ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
cpu - AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor ADX250OCGQBOX
ram - Crucial 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)
video card - EVGA GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
hard drive - Western Digital Caviar RE WD1600YS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
psu - XCLIO Goodpower 500w
sound card - Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card
cpu cooler - Rosewill RCX-Z940-SL 92mm 2 Ball

I am looking to upgrade my CPU to this:
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Deneb 3.7GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HDZ980FBGMBOX

Considering I am going from a 65w to a 125w CPU on top of my current PSU demands, would I have to upgrade my PSU as well? I'm really not sure at this point whether 500w will cut it or not?

If I would need to upgrade my PSU, would someone be able to recommend one that would be suitable for my setup that is reasonably priced while at the same time a reliable product?
__________________

Ascendant is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

well from all the reviews from newegg and the web people have 560 ti's and phenom x4 and it works great so you probally wont have to upgrade ur psu
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 07:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

XCLIO is one of the worst power supply manufacturers on the planet. You should upgrade it now before any other improvements are considered.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
XCLIO is one of the worst power supply manufacturers on the planet. You should upgrade it now before any other improvements are considered.
Odd, because when I bought it the reviews for it were excellent. I've also had it now for about 3 years with no problems at all.

I'm on a real tight budget, so Im wary of spending money on it if I dont need it.
Ascendant is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

Newegg reviews are trash. And you risk hurting your entire system if you get a cheap one. Get at least an Antec. They're about the cheapest you can go.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Newegg reviews are trash. And you risk hurting your entire system if you get a cheap one. Get at least an Antec. They're about the cheapest you can go.
Well after researching on the net, every single review I read about XCLIO PSU's (6) were very good, saying they are very stable, perform well, and all have high ratings from reviews. On a related note, Apevia seems to be the worst rated and also fraudulent since they don't put out the amount of watts they claim they are supposed to.

Anyway, if I were to get myself a new PSU, what are the good manufacturers?
Ascendant is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

you should go with the 960T
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HD96ZTWFGRBOX
$15 off with promo code HARDOCPX1X4A, ends 1/10


also unlocked, should be easy to overclock to 3.7 ghz
slightly better integrated memory controller.
cheaper.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 02:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Newegg reviews are trash.
Do you mean Neweggs official reviews, like Newegg TV, or the user reviews? Because most of the reviews are very helpful. I review every tech product I buy, even if I don't buy it from newegg, and I give an honest review, so other people can avoid the bad stuff, and get the good stuff. Not every review on there is trash, you just gotta find the good ones.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

I'm talking about the user reviews. Someone gives a 1 egg because it was DOA. This was no fault of Newegg. They don't test everything before they send it to you. Straight from the manufacturer to you.

That is the difference. Some noob will say, "Oh! This no-name PSU has excellent reviews! And the Corsair has a few bad reviews." But you or I, would go by more than Newegg's reviews. Professional reviews, stuff that other people have bought that know works. Like I say, "It is best to look at every angle". I read several reviews from different sites before I decide to buy it. Not for cheap stuff, but $50+
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 04:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Will my next upgrade require a PSU upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
you should go with the 960T
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HD96ZTWFGRBOX
$15 off with promo code HARDOCPX1X4A, ends 1/10


also unlocked, should be easy to overclock to 3.7 ghz
slightly better integrated memory controller.
cheaper.
But why would I go with a 3.0 that could be OC'd to about 3.7 when I can get a 3.7 that could be OC'd to 4.5+? would a slightly better memory controller outweigh that big of a difference?
__________________

Ascendant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Require Graphics Upgrade seeck System Upgrades 1 09-05-2007 07:29 AM
PSU upgrade tayla13 System Upgrades 2 01-05-2007 04:23 PM
psu upgrade? chaosunknown System Upgrades 5 11-29-2006 08:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.