will my corsair 400w support a HD 4870? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2010, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default will my corsair 400w support a HD 4870?

Hi guys,

I've been buying parts for a new computer over the last couple of months, and left the graphics card till last (I wanted a working computer but didn't have the money for the whole lot) and now my computers up and running, albeit with an old graphics card, and i've run into around £90 it's time to look at graphics cards.

The main purpose would be to play games such as MW2 or Just Cause 2 at 1980x1080 at 'hopefully' moderate - max settings. I am looking for the best graphics card under £100 and saw a 'XFX ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card' for £90 and wondered if my computer could support it (mainly if the PSU could handle it).

My current AM3 setup is:

Enermax Pandora case,
MSI 770-C45 mainboard
AMD athlon x2 250 3ghz (with stock heatsink/fan)
Corsair cx400w psu (30A on a single 12v rail)
2x2GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1,600 Mhz (4GB total)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT (this is what I want to replace)
Windows 7 - 64bit

The cards I was looking at originaly were GT 240s and HD 4670s and HD 5850s but closer to £100 I can get either a GT 250 or a HD 5870. The HD 5870 aparently requires a minumum of 450w with 2 6pin PCIe plugs.

My question is could my system support such a card (will my Corsair 400w be able to run it). I would have to use a 4pin molex to 6pin PCIe adapter I think because I have only 1 on my PSU. Would it be a case of my system would run it but barely or would it keep freezing or going black?

Any input would be aprecciated, especially if anyone has a similer setup themselves. I would like to think the minumum 450w value on XFXs website is exagerated for the purpose of covering rubbish/unbranded PSUs and that my Corsair one should be able to do the job.

If not, would you suggest something a little less powerfull like the GT250 or HD 5850 perhaps? Also if I had to use the 4pin molex to 6pin PCIe adapter, would I have to use 2 instead of 1 and 1 actual PCIe lead fromt he PSU to make the power more even between the 2 plugs (sorry if that question is nooby, im not overly sure on this topic)

Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you
__________________

Capiech is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: will my corsair 400w support a HD 4870?

in the parts you wrote 5850 and 5870, i think you made a mistake and meant to put 4850 and 4870, which would make more sense.

anyway, yes the corsair 400w would be able to run a 4870, it is a quality psu. you would just need to use a pci-e adapter, which you should get in the package with the gfx card.

although, you should consider a 5770, it should be around the same price as a 4870. it offers similar performance while consuming less power, and only requires one 6 pin pci-e cable which your corsair has already. plus it will also run cooler, and it support dx11.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: will my corsair 400w support a HD 4870?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
in the parts you wrote 5850 and 5870, i think you made a mistake and meant to put 4850 and 4870, which would make more sense.

anyway, yes the corsair 400w would be able to run a 4870, it is a quality psu. you would just need to use a pci-e adapter, which you should get in the package with the gfx card.

although, you should consider a 5770, it should be around the same price as a 4870. it offers similar performance while consuming less power, and only requires one 6 pin pci-e cable which your corsair has already. plus it will also run cooler, and it support dx11.
I fully agree, yet again! I had my Sapphire 4870 on a Antec BP-350 with a CPU and memory overclock, running fully stable. I could play all games, I could do any benchmarks, and still have no problems with voltages. My 12V rails on that, only totaled 23amps, so you'll be fine.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC: Conviction Patch Adds ATI Eyefinity & CrossFire Support Osiris PC Gaming 0 05-06-2010 04:07 PM
Use TeamViewer for remote Linux support Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 04-18-2010 03:58 PM
Fake Antivirus Program Features Live Tech Support Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 02-13-2010 04:15 PM
*** 4870 vs 4850 Battle! *** gurusan Overclocking and Modding 65 12-18-2008 10:50 AM
which Corsair PSU should i pick? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-06-2007 12:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.