will this motherboard work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2012, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 46
Default will this motherboard work

Hi guys i have an FX-4100 and i want to too upgrade my motherboard as it is cheap
So will this motherboard work with my processor

http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_...USB3/#overview
also is it easy to take the processor out and put it in the new one
__________________

PorkChopz is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: will this motherboard work

It should work fine. The FX series work with it.

It is very simple to swap your CPU, but you need to reapply the thermal grease before you reattach the heatsink. You need to clean off the old paste from your CPU and heatsink, with 70% isoprpyl alcohol. Then re-apply the grease. You will need your own. We recommend Turniq TX-2 around here.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: will this motherboard work

Keep in mind, if you have an OEM Windows license you'll need to purchase a new one when you swap motherboards.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: will this motherboard work

Actually, it doesn't always do it. I did it myself, I switched a very similar board, and Windows didn't even ask me. As long as it is the same chipset. In my experience. But always have a plan B.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: will this motherboard work

I have never had to reinstall Windows or reactivate due to swapping parts.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: will this motherboard work

Sorry for my ignorance, I just assumed Microsoft's EULA was the trump card here since we can't discuss illegal options on the forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/sblicensing/pages/licensing_faq.aspx#faq3
Generally, an end user can upgrade or replace all of the hardware components on a computer—except the motherboard—and still retain the license for the original Microsoft OEM operating system software. If the motherboard is upgraded or replaced for reasons other than a defect, then a new computer has been created. Microsoft OEM operating system software cannot be transferred to the new computer, and the license of new operating system software is required.

If the motherboard is replaced because it is defective, you do not need to acquire a new operating system license for the PC as long as the replacement motherboard is the same make/model or the same manufacturer's replacement/equivalent, as defined by the manufacturer's warranty.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 01:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: will this motherboard work

Nobody is discussing anything illegal at all here. I'm simply stating I have never had to reinstall or reactivate Windows 7 due to replacing a certain part in my machine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will this motherboard and proccessor work together foreverdead System Upgrades 4 11-28-2011 06:52 PM
Will my MotherBoard Still Work? jambab System Upgrades 3 08-30-2009 04:40 PM
would this motherboard work well? Asianyeti New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-27-2008 10:08 AM
Will this motherboard work with this gpu? santa New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-20-2008 04:48 PM
Will this Motherboard work? CodeDelta16 System Upgrades 5 05-20-2006 04:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.