Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2009, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

I'm slightly upgrading my computer after destroying the processor by mistake, so instead of buying another Socket 939 processor, I figured I could just buy a new motherboard and a newer CPU and RAM.

My question is, will a Micro-ATX motherboard (the one I'm looking at buying) fit in a standard ATX case?

Will the screws and ports line up?

Thanks,

-Matt
__________________

Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

In a word, yes However if you have room for an ATX mobo you may as well go for one, since they tend to have more features for the same price (i.e. more PCI/PCI-e slots, more SATA ports, more RAM slots etc.)
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

Meh, I don't plan on gaming or anything, so 2 RAM slots and one PCI-X16 slot is just dandy for me

This is what I plan on buying *attached*

It's in Canadian Dollars, by the way.
Attached Files
File Type: txt New PC.txt (332 Bytes, 41 views)
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

For those who want to see your list.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
For those who want to see your list.
I also just realized I will be using Windows XP 32-Bit, so I don't need 4GB of RAM. Maybe just 2GB for now

I was thinking this: Newegg.ca - Kingston 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Which brings the grand total to just $199.74
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

DDR2 has gotten dirt cheap. Go with these to save a few:
Newegg.ca - Kingston 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
$45

Same speed, good company, just not as flashy.

[EDIT] Just saw your edit. If you are running XP 32-bit, 2 gig will be plenty. [/EDIT]
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

Slight update, a build with DDR2 1066 as opposed to DDR2 800 in the first build:

Attached Files
File Type: txt New PC.txt (608 Bytes, 41 views)
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 01:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

Comes with a stock heatsink and based off K10 insted of older K8 architecture.

Newegg.ca - AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 02:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Will a micro-ATX mobo work in an ATX case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Wow, thanks

With that CPU, It's only $208 total
__________________

Matt08642 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
CoolerMaster Centurion Case... Mobo problem?? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-04-2007 01:50 PM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.