Will this memory work on this motherboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2009, 08:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: Will this memory work on this motherboard

do i install the motherboard after i format it and before i install the os or do i install the motherboard after i install the os?(this is the motherboard not the motherboard drivers)
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 09-15-2009, 08:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will this memory work on this motherboard

You install the motherboard, format the hard drive, install the OS, and then the motherboard drivers.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: Will this memory work on this motherboard

do i format by reinstalling windows?
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will this memory work on this motherboard

During the process of re-installing Windows, it'll take you through the procedure to format.

Make sure you backup your important data before doing that though.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Will this memory work on this motherboard

If you are using Vista you don't have to reformat, you can use SYSPREP to transfer you Windows installation to the new system.

Here are instructions on using SYSPREP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
You can use SYSPREP to prepare your hard drive for transfer and not have to reinstall anything. Use SYSPREP just before you are going to move your stuff over to its new home.

To use the GUI (graphical user interface), copy and paste"c:\windows\system32\sysprep\sysprep.exe" in the Start Search box. You should get something like this:



Change the Shutdown Option to Shutdown so it doesn't reboot on you. Once it shuts down, it is ready to move. When you boot it up in the new hardware, Vista will act like it has just been started up in your computer for the first time. Once you are booted you will have to install the drivers for your new hardware.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-17-2009, 07:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: Will this memory work on this motherboard

Oh I actually have windows xp.
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Consistently Inconsistent Memory Issues.... Cunjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2009 12:54 PM
Motherboard and memory question WWS New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-10-2008 04:18 PM
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
How is this memory and will it work with mysetup? ProBaller25 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2008 12:09 AM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.