Will this make my computer faster? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2005, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Question Will this make my computer faster?

I like to play cs and half life 2 and when i click on the games for them to load up they take sooooo long and between loading times it is really long. My comp slows down and it becomes weak. I have a sempron 2500+ and a radeon 9600 videocard with 512mb ram. My hard drive however is only 20 gigs and it is almost full i only have about .5 gigs left. It is an old HDD too it has 4500 rpm and i think it is a maxtor my friend says. I want to buy a 160 gigabyte Seagate HDD with 7200 rpm and 8mb cache. Will having this new Hardrive make my comp a little faster even? I thought my sempron is compared to a celeron 2.5 ghz but it doesn't feel like 2.5 ghz it seems slower. I need a new hard drive anyways so will this harddrive make my comp faster? What other things can i do to make my comp faster?
thanks i'm a noob at comps my friend who moved away helped me build this but now that he's gone i dont know what to do.
__________________

FunkMaster66 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

First off, your hard drive is too full. Windows needs room for virtual memory on the drive.

Here's a little list I put together:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...983#post534983
Read it and follow what it says.

Getting a larger HD would be a definate plus. 7200 ARPM and 8MB cache will make you think your comp is running nitreous.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

I would highly recommend another stick of 512 RAM. That Seagate will do you good.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Thumbs up

Ok I will try this. I hope it will make my comp run like it is meant to be ran thanks peoples.
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.