will this just scratch the surface for XP SP1??????? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 07:25 PM   #21 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
No, its just a program that allows people to uninstall utilities that arent in the add and remove panel!
Err...no, it's not...
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 02:04 AM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 84
Default

READ IT:

XPlite and 2000lite are powerful configuration utilities for Windows creating a modular Windows operating system where YOU are in control. The new version 1.8 gives you more than 160 ways to reduce the size, improve the security, and customize YOUR Windows XP or 2000 installation to suit YOU!

from the lite pc site,
the program is only a 30mb file, and once xp is installed, you choose which programs to uninstall

im talking to a brick wall here!
__________________

aff1993 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Windows XP will not be useable. It will install and run, but with any program useage at all, it will most likely slow to a crawl, and XP will beat it dead.

EDO Ram is probably the slowest ram you can even buy (Second hand, maybe on eBay). It's not made anymore. It usually runs at 66MHz, sometimes even 33Mhz I think. You also can't mix different speeds.


I had a Dual Pentium 2, 266MHz X2, both overclocked to 333MHz, with 128MB EDO RAM. It took 4 hours to install. I then disabled every possible service I could. XP still barely ran, the most I could do was surf the internet, and even that dragged along. So if that's the case with mine, and your laptop being even slower, do you really think it's such a good idea?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:06 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

i recommend that you find a copy of windows 2000.

it comes with the stability of XP and it is very efficent on the RAM.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:39 PM   #25 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Regardless of what will be installed on there, it will be slow. The hard disk will be incredibly slow.
XP and 2000 would run, but I wouldn't recommend it. Try Windows 98 or lower. Programs will still have a huge load time, even on Win 98. Besides that, you cannot install too much with only 2GB.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:13 AM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 84
Default

what the **** worldindustries, you said that edo ram runs at 66mhz???
It dosent have any effect on the CPU!
god ur an idiot!
Anyhoo, i know your gonna say, its a waste of time and money but "ladadadadada"
Can u upgrade CPU for example, windows xp is recommended to run at 128mb RAM and 300mhz CPU, said microsoft in 2001,
I can get a 144mb of RAM in total on that laptop
Ok, now i found this, pentium 2 300mhz MMX technology processor, will it work in a laptop, coz i know someone who can put parts in?
heres the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Intel-Pentium...QQcmdZViewItem

Ok, now with 300mhz processor and 128mb RAM, will it run better, AND TRUTHFULLY, how long will it take to start up?
aff1993 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:27 AM   #27 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

before you go off on a flame war, I'm just curious... we are accused of saying it's a waste of time... Well... to most of us it is... BUT... what is your reasoning to do it? I know from my stand point, if I understand why, then I might be able to help better.

and turthfully... I can only give an estimated time but with that slow of a machine, you looking at 5-10, maybe 15 minutes just to boot... but let the others (experts) make a judgement on it...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:24 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
what the **** worldindustries, you said that edo ram runs at 66mhz???
It dosent have any effect on the CPU!
god ur an idiot!
Anyhoo, i know your gonna say, its a waste of time and money but "ladadadadada"
Can u upgrade CPU for example, windows xp is recommended to run at 128mb RAM and 300mhz CPU, said microsoft in 2001,
I can get a 144mb of RAM in total on that laptop
Ok, now i found this, pentium 2 300mhz MMX technology processor, will it work in a laptop, coz i know someone who can put parts in?
heres the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Intel-Pentium...QQcmdZViewItem

Ok, now with 300mhz processor and 128mb RAM, will it run better, AND TRUTHFULLY, how long will it take to start up?

Well, now. I'll remember next time not to help you.

Ram DOES have an effect on the computer, obviously. A computer running DDR266 RAM is obviously gonna' have slower performance than a computer running DDR400. So using EDO RAM at 66MHz will definately be slower than SDRAM at 133MHz if your FSB is any higher than 66.

And, by the way, if you're gonna' try to run XP on that laptop, it will be a waste of money.


If anything, you would be the idiot. How the **** are you planning to fit that SLOT 1 Pentium 2 into that laptop? It's about the size of your average alarm clock.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 11:34 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
what the **** worldindustries, you said that edo ram runs at 66mhz???
It dosent have any effect on the CPU!
god ur an idiot!
Nice flame, I hope you're proud of yourself.

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
Anyhoo, i know your gonna say, its a waste of time and money but "ladadadadada"
The computer is a slow POS that barely deserves the name "computer," dumping money into it will make it immeasurably faster, it is a waste of money, but lets see what you recommend here:

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
Can u upgrade CPU for example, windows xp is recommended to run at 128mb RAM and 300mhz CPU, said microsoft in 2001,
I can get a 144mb of RAM in total on that laptop
Great idea, 128mb of ram, upgrade to 144. 16Mb of ram will make it so much faster.

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
Ok, now i found this, pentium 2 300mhz MMX technology processor, will it work in a laptop, coz i know someone who can put parts in?
heres the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Intel-Pentium...QQcmdZViewItem
No, slot 1 is not for laptops, lol. That and it's an incredibily slow processor.

Quote:
Originally posted by aff1993
Ok, now with 300mhz processor and 128mb RAM, will it run better, AND TRUTHFULLY, how long will it take to start up?
I'd say 5 minutes at most. My P2 266mhz / 128mb of ram sitting next to me boots in like 5 minutes, running XP Pro, so yeah.
The General is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 12:04 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
It's slot A WorldIndustries

Nope, slot 1.

Slot A is the AMD equivalent.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.