Will this GPU and Power Supply work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2010, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Exclamation Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

Alright I'm looking to purchase a new graphics card: Nvidia Geforce 220 1024MB DDR2 Galaxy 22TGE8HX2IUN GeForce GT 220 Video Card - 1024MB DDR2, PCI-Express 2.0, DVI, HDMI, VGA at TigerDirect.com
and a power supply to go along with it: Newegg.com - LOGISYS Computer PS480D2 480W ATX12V Power Supply

I was posting to make sure that it would work and connect correctly with my current PC setup.

Processor:
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 2 (max 2)
Number of threads 2 (max 2)
Name Intel Pentium E2200
Codename Conroe
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x0)
CPUID 6.F.D
Extended CPUID 6.F
Core Stepping M0
Technology 65 nm
Core Speed 1198.5 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 6.0 x 199.7 MHz
Rated Bus speed 799.0 MHz
Stock frequency 2200 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
L1 Data cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 1024 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
FID range 6.0x - 11.0x
Max VID 1.325 V

Chipset:
Northbridge Intel P35/G33/G31 rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801IR (ICH9R) rev. 02
Memory Type DDR2
Memory Size 4096 MBytes
Channels Dual, (Symmetric)
Memory Frequency 399.5 MHz (1:2)
CAS# latency (CL) 6.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 6
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 6
Cycle Time (tRAS) 18
Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 42
Command Rate (CR) 2T
MCHBAR I/O Base address 0x0FED14000
MCHBAR I/O Size 4096

If this info is irrelevant just tell me and I'll post the correct info. Thanks!
__________________

momboom1 is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

As long as your motherboard has a PCI express slot the graphics card will work. As for the PSU it doesn't support PCI express power, although the graphics card you have chosen does NOT need its own power supply. To be on the safe side i would get this PSU, it supports PCI express power and so is future proof if you ever want to upgrade the GPU again

Newegg.com - hec HP585D RETAIL 585W ATX12V Power Supply - Power Cord Included
__________________

Chillstalker is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

I wouldn't buy either of them. Psu isn't a part to totaly cheap out on. If you don't plan upgrades I'd grab this
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 CMPSU-430CX 430W ATX12V Active PFC Power Supply for 23.99 after a 20 mail in rebate.

However, the 220s a low power card, and you may be fine with the current one.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

Do not get that PSU. I had a Logisys it didn't last me a year. I wouldn't get that hec either sorry Chillstalker. It's rated at a max of 585 watts but it will only be reliable in the low 400's if it's lucky. I would go with something closer to this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139018

You'd rather be safe than sorry, no?

EDIT: Patonb for the steal. BTW Paton those reviews scare me on the CX430. Thoughts?
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

No real thoughts.

They are budget model psus... I wouldn't get one, but I don't skimp on the item directly powering my expensive parts.

That said the cx430 is getting **** on because its actually less powerful than a cx400... with 30Amps vs the cx430s 28A

It seems like its a decent psu, just not the craziness most are use to from Corsair... But at the price, its whats expected.

The 220 only requires 300Ws and even with the cx430s "lacking" power output, its still way better.

But youre right Hero, the cx500 would be the better psu, but its alot more than the ops $16 selected one.


HOLY ****! the logisysd only has 16Amps on the 12V despite being a 480W psu... This most likely, barely power the gt220. The Hec is still below the cx430 at a whooping 19 and 20, so under 29A total and its a 585W psu.

So as it shows, Watts means almost nothing in the grand scheme of power supplies.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

My device manager says that I have two PCI Express Root Ports (1 - 2940 ; 3 - 2944). ICH9 Family. Does this mean that I have two open PCI Express slots that I can but both the GPU and PSU into?
momboom1 is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

Also I was thinking of going with the cx430, do I have the right pin connectors for it?
momboom1 is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

You only have 1 I believe... My laptop show 4 yet i know ive got 1 pci-e type port.

Youre best off by just opening the case.

Yha, the cx430 has the rright cabling.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

If I only have one then wtf am I supposed to do :l
momboom1 is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Will this GPU and Power Supply work?

Ok you only need on PCI E slot for this upgrade. You put the GT220 in it. Than you swap your old PSU for the new one and SHAZAM! done.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New power supply wont work with pc Thetake Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-03-2009 02:49 PM
Will this gfx card work with this power supply? Relay New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-22-2007 05:42 PM
Does a 20+4 Pin Power Supply mean it will work in a 20 pin mobo? dario03 System Upgrades 4 04-03-2006 07:33 AM
Will a power supply work if one of the two fans is blocked dario03 System Upgrades 1 03-30-2006 02:44 PM
Which Heatsink should I get / Will this power supply work? javascriptman New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-21-2005 03:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.