Will everything work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Will everything work?

Motherboard
Processor
RAM
Vid Card
Case
Hard Drive
DVD+-R

I don't need any more parts, right? I was also wondering whether or not I should wait for DX10 as opposed to getting a video card now.
__________________

JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

cables? monitor?
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

For the vid card...I just ordered a similar one, it looks to have the same specs at first glance. Save $5 regular price or instead of the $20 rebate, it has a $30...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130017
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kfc469
cables? monitor?
'

I plan to use the monitor I have now, and will just take it to a place to get it put together. They can add the cables and stuff.
Anyway, should I wait for DX10 or not?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Extra Question: +3.3V@32A, +5V@30A, +12V1@15A, +12V2@17A, -12V@0.3A, +5VSB@2A = Outputs for PSU.

Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 18 Amp Amps. = Video Card Requirements.

Will they work together? Are the +12V1 and +12V2 added together or something?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
tajahem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 410
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JiveTurkey
Anyway, should I wait for DX10 or not?
Last I heard there weren't any DX10 cards planned for release until after Vista ships (sometime next year). I wouldn't wait as there are no guarntees that the first batch of DX10 cards will be any good even when they do start shipping.



As to the question of "will everything work?" I didn't spot any problems except for the fact that your board supports faster RAM than the DDR2 667 you listed.
tajahem is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Does that mean I HAVE to get faster RAM, or I could stand to get faster RAM?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

You can stand to get faster RAM. You don't have to get it if you don't want to. Although you may notice a small increase in performance if you get faster RAM.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

I would, but the other RAM is much more expensive.
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Next question: Would this RAM and this RAM work together?
__________________

JiveTurkey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.