will this build work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default will this build work

Hi this is my first ever build.I have come up with these parts will they work together and will they run well:
A PSU http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=141418
A Motherboard http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=226859
A Graphics card http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=396723
A Sound Card
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=292191
A CPU
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=260260
MEMORY-CAn antone suggest some that works with this mobo
A disk drive
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=368152
A Hard Drive
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=172204
__________________

sailpog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

looks like your building a budget comp so on a tight purse string?

And what will you be doing with your comp playing games? video editing? sound editing?

PSU:
580W HiperPower HPU-4M580 Black SLi Ready Modular 20+24Pins P8 Ready ATX2.2/BTX
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=386404

Motherboard:
Abit AW8 i955X, S775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 800, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=256885

CPU:
Intel Pentium D 805 Socket775 , Smithfield Core
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=348286

RAM:
1GB Corsair Value Select, DDR PC2700 (333), 184 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 2.5
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=217958

Graphics card:
Same as you chose (although the 7300 isnt great if you want to play games get something better 6800GS upwards)

hard drive:
160 Gb Seagate ST3160812AS Barracuda 7200.9
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=291702

Well lots of people will recommend AMD but you chose intel so i chose intel parts for you.

Not sure about sound cards so left it out. And you didnt give a budget so if its too expensive bits can be cut down. Give more details as too what you will use the pc for.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

I am building on a budget of £350 and below. I want a good base system that i can expand upon as i get more money.I will aminly be using it for games such as CS:S and Far cry and other Fps' and rts'.
P.S IM only at secondary school so i dont have as much money to use building pcs as you might.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

£350! ...thats not going to build a good gaming pc.. do you already have a monitor,keyboard, mouse or old pc parts you can use?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

i can get a mouse keyboard, monitor and windows xp ,all for free, of my friend. IT doent need to be incredible specs at the start it just needs to run ok and have the potential to be upgraded and updated.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

If thats the case Id go for AMD and get an AM2 motherboard and a cheap processor and other parts, although the intel conroe is out soon but Im unsure what motherboards will support it.

motherboard:
MSI AM2 K9N NEO-F NF550, Socket AM2, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 800, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=398863

CPU:
AMD AM2 Sempron 3000 Manila Core, 1.6GHz, 256KB Cache, Retail
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=401088

RAM:
1GB Corsair Value Select, DDR PC2700 (333), 184 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 2.5
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=217958

Graphics card:
256Mb XFX 7300LE, PCI-E (x16), Mem Clock 550 MHz, GPU 450 MHz,4 Pipes, D-Sub DVI-I
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=396723

hard drive:
120 Gb Seagate Barracuda 7200.7, SATA150, 7200 rpm, 8MBCache ,NCQ
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...roductID=58379

PSU:
480W Tagan TG480-U01 Quiet ATX2.0 SLi 12v EPS/SATA/XEON 3 Years Warranty ATX/BTX
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...roductID=82572

dvd drive:
NEC ND-4570A-GEN Ivory 16x16 DVD±RW/RAM Dual Layer DVD-Writer OEM
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=353424

total: £345.64
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 02:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I don't recommend a sound card, the chipset works excellent, unless you're a DJ...

And AMD's run cheaper than Intel's.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=209793
I hear venice cores are good for gaming (got that of another thread).And this PSU is cheaper:http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=141418
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 03:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

you said you wanted future upgrades hence i chose an AM2 sempron as you have a small budget.The one you chose is socket 939.

Also no point in having a 600watt PSU but up too you.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 03:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

ok so ill stick with the cpu you said but the psu i said is cheaper plus its got more power .
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.