will 150w psu be enough??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2006, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Question will 150w psu be enough???

i have a computer that i want to put into a smaller custom case. i have a 150w psu thats fairly small so i want to use that but i dont know if its enough power. here are the specs

pentium 3 750mhz
1 3.2gb hdd
1 tdk cd burner
256mb ram
sound blaster pci sound card
ati radeon ve videocard
no case fans, just 1 fan on the proc this is a pretty low end machine.

this 150w psu was originally on a machine wtih a duron proc and about the same specs.

i need a response quick!
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

i'd do that.

It should definately work.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

yep, it works and there are no restarts. its working great now, i'm using it right now. my comp is pretty cool. its on a removable mobo tray and the psu hdd and cd rom are right next to the mobo with no case. but the pci cards are kinda loose because they are not connected to any case. any suggestions?
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to freedonutss
Default

Yup, That would work perfectly fine. Good luck.
__________________
Aspire X-Navigator Series
Intel 3.66 Ghz Dual Core
2x 1GB Kingston 4-4-4-12 Ram
ECS P4M890T-M2 LGA 775 M/B
Nvidia Geforce 7900GTO 512 MB PCI x16
Rosewill 700W PSU
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB 3.0gb/s
freedonutss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.