Wii + Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2006, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Wii + Monitor

Hi,

At around christmas time, I'm going to be getting a new computer, as I only have a laptop at the moment. But I would like to be able to buy the moniter first, to use for my Wii. I'm a student, so any steps to save money is a bonus. And since I'm in the UK, I have to pay £150 a year for a TV lisence, if I had a TV. So instead, I'm looking to buy a monitor which I can use with my PC when I get it, but I can also plug my Wii into, when it comes out.

Now, I know very little about cables, and things like component/composite. As far as I can work out, the Wii comes with a composite cable, and I will be using a DVI cable to plug my PC into the monitor.

So, how would one go about plugging a Wii into a monitor?
I don't have a monitor yet, and I'm open for ideas as to which one to get.

Thanks alot
__________________

iviv is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

wow .... a tv liecense? and i dont lthink that you can directly connect it .. you have to connect the wii to pc or sumthing.. not 100 percent tho
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Default

wait I want to know what this tv license entitles you to do. Watch public television??
fork is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Basically, if you own a TV you will probably need a TV lisence. Only if you tune it so that there is no picture visible on any of the channels will you be ok. There are detector vans which apparently go around and can check to see if a house has a lisence.

But the money goes into paying for the BBC, which means that none of the BBC channels have advert breaks. If you have a program from 6-7pm, its solid, no breaks every 15 mins.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Televis...United_Kingdom
iviv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.