wich power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2006, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default wich power supply?

I just bought this sli mobo.

http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-K8NSLIF#

this is the specs of the power supply i bought.

The total power =400watts and the max output is 550watts.

or is that one ok for sli mode?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

As long as the PSU says SLI-certified then its good for SLI.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

it doesn't say anything about sli.

i know i can buy an adapter for it so i can have that 6 molex that everybody says i need for sli.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default

just knowing the voltage level isn't very useful. It will most likely work, but the Amps are more important then the wattage.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=77323

read the section on power supplies. it will help you.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

it says on my power supply 100-120vac 10A does that mean 10 amps?
thats the input.

the output is 25a is a 400watt then or a 30a is an 200watt.

2a is 550watts.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

if i need a power supply just give me a link to a good one that is silent to. PS are usually loud or at least mine are.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default

If your system runs stable, then you won't need a new power supply. If you do need one locate an Antec power supply. they are good, reliable, fairly cheap, and have good rail output. a 500w at staples is 89.99. or 69.99 at newegg.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

i'm not saying that you need one, the one you already purchased could be good enough. Look at the third picture in the antec one. It has that label with a table of voltages on it. what does the power supply that you have list for these voltages?
+3.3
+12
+5.
etc... (there are more then I listed)

-------edit-----------

if you want quiet, this one is silent
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103926

$70 one has slightly better voltage rails, but i do not know how loud it is. my power supplies have always been quite, its the case fans that are loud.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 05:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I don't know what voltage it is and that ps for $150 is way to expensive.

I think mine might be a 12 volt.

If i go sli and the screen doesn't come up that means i need a better power supply though right?
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Norcent
I don't know what voltage it is and that ps for $150 is way to expensive.

I think mine might be a 12 volt.

If i go sli and the screen doesn't come up that means i need a better power supply though right?


The point that ssjheero_yuy99 was trying to make is that all PSUs have three basic voltages found in positive and negative voltages,3.3.V, 5V, and 12V.

If you goolge "PSU calculator" you will find a list of sites that will calculate your PSU needs. Here are three that were suggested at a site that I trust.

http://searchportal.information.com/...pYHllrWAEIA1sM

http://www.legitreviews.com/article.php?aid=183

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/

If things aren't confusing enough for the beginner to choose a good PSU, the manufacturers will trot out descriptions like "peak power" to try to impress you. Peak power is a term held over from the audio industry which is worthless in terms of judging a PSU. You will be much better off basing your choice on the weight of the PSU...seriously! The better manufacturers will have better quality transformers which weigh more, lager capacitors, and larger wire. The adage that you get what you pay for is another rule to live by with PSUs, you are not going to find a major brand 500W PSU selling for $30.00.
dcc is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

if i want to go sli should i get a new power supply?

I just want an answer to that question before i go and spend a bunch of money on other stuff.

http://www.staples.com/webapp/wcs/st...&cmArea=SEARCH

I was wondering if that would be good for sli and all that?

I just want to go to staples or circuit city just cause i need the power supply today.

http://www.circuitcity.com/rpsm/oid/...Detail.do#tabs

thats the one at circuit city.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.