Why is my LCD monitor/TV fuzzy but computer monitor is not - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2006, 01:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
AGP, PCI, PCI-E 16x, PCI-E 1x, psh, IDE, SATA, USB, FireWire, serial, parallel, PS/2 video cards, none of any of that matters. TV signal is poor quality, end of story. That's all there is too it. All TV ('cept HDTV) signal sucks, it's all blurry low resolution interlaced analog crap. That is why the image sucks. The TV-output is for watching videos, movies, slideshows, not for reading articals and writing papers.

Your hardware is fine. It's the hardware standards that suck here.
"psh" ???

Yes, S-Video sucks. S-Video works in 480i or 576i resolution.




Quote:
Originally posted by krazieaznboi
wait... if u video card was 32mb doesnt that mean u were using a agp( assuming its a agp card becuz 32mb sounds really ancient and pcix wasnt invented back than) 2x or 4x and now ur using a fx5500?
You really sound like you were already born back then

A video card with 32MB of memory can use any interface (PCI, AGP and there's probably some 32MB cards for PCI-E as well).

PCI-X is not used for graphics cards (at least not that I know of). It is used for stuff like network cards and controllers (mainly SCSI, SAS, SATA).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
"psh" ???

Yes, S-Video sucks. S-Video works in 480i or 576i resolution.



That was me making the sound "pshhhh" and listing whatever interfaces I could think of. xD
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 04:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
That was me making the sound "pshhhh" and listing whatever interfaces I could think of. xD
You forgot an important interface used for gfx cards: ISA.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 04:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Go to www.entechtaiwan.com and download powerstrip and learn how to use that. You can usually correct all sorts of video problems with it.
Him is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 04:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

i just bought a used monitor for $30, everything works great
__________________

mattd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.