Why is my LCD monitor/TV fuzzy but computer monitor is not - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default Why is my LCD monitor/TV fuzzy but computer monitor is not

Today i installed my new video card with S-video output and PC monitor output. When i attach the S-video to my LCD monitor the screen is fuzzy, but when I hook up my computer monitor (with the regular monitor jack) everything is fine. Could it be the S-video is not providing a good image, or is it cause the LCD monitor has a 21inch viewing scrren which is too large for my new video card to handle. Also, would it matter if i bought a regular monitor jack to attach the LCD monitor to my computer as opposed to the S-video jack? the video card is a Geforce 5500 with 256mb of ram.
__________________

mattd is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Any chance you bought that video card from Future Shop, on sale for 50 bucks?

Try to isolate the problem. Simplest thing would be to see if your S-Video cable is faulty. If the problem isn't with the cable, then you know it's with the TV, or your computer configuration. I'm going to assume it's not the TV.

Check to see that your video card is configured to output to a TV. Since I don't know your OS, read your manual/instructions to see if there are any steps you need to take to configure your output to a TV.
__________________

hammer55 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hammer55
Any chance you bought that video card from Future Shop, on sale for 50 bucks?

Try to isolate the problem. Simplest thing would be to see if your S-Video cable is faulty. If the problem isn't with the cable, then you know it's with the TV, or your computer configuration. I'm going to assume it's not the TV.

Check to see that your video card is configured to output to a TV. Since I don't know your OS, read your manual/instructions to see if there are any steps you need to take to configure your output to a TV.
lol, yes $50. but thats a huge upgrade considering my old video card was 32mb.
mattd is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

wait... if u video card was 32mb doesnt that mean u were using a agp( assuming its a agp card becuz 32mb sounds really ancient and pcix wasnt invented back than) 2x or 4x and now ur using a fx5500?
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

His new card is an AGP 8x. He is not using a PCI-E card.
hammer55 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

i no his new card is an agp 8x but wat about his agp slot? is the slot a 8x? cuz it only sounds like his using a 8x card on a 4x slot.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

well this is my motherboard: http://tw2005.giga-byte.com/Motherbo...cts_GA-7ZM.htm

the card seems to work fine, the computer is quicker than before
mattd is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

just checked the box and this video card is 8x and 4x compatible
mattd is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it's just a factor of the s-video signal. you will always get a clearer/sharper image using a monitor cable i.e. DVI or VGA than composite (the yellow "RCA" lead) or s-video cables.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

AGP, PCI, PCI-E 16x, PCI-E 1x, psh, IDE, SATA, USB, FireWire, serial, parallel, PS/2 video cards, none of any of that matters. TV signal is poor quality, end of story. That's all there is too it. All TV ('cept HDTV) signal sucks, it's all blurry low resolution interlaced analog crap. That is why the image sucks. The TV-output is for watching videos, movies, slideshows, not for reading articals and writing papers.

Your hardware is fine. It's the hardware standards that suck here.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.