Why can my graphics chip play games its not supposed to? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2010, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default Why can my graphics chip play games its not supposed to?

Hi all! I am looking into getting my boys a new pc that they can use to play Sims 3, Spore Galactic & World of Warcraft on. Right now they have taken over my laptop because it is the only pc in the house that will play these. So in looking into video cards (in building or buying) I am trying to narrow it down to what will definately play these but not too expensive. I keep coming across sites & forums saying how graphics chips in laptops just won't play these games at all. It confuses me a bit because not only are we able to play but they run great- good graphics, no lag etc. Am I missing something here? I just want to make sure I understand what it is that I CAN buy. Ive been ruling out most laptops for fear that when it comes the games wont play. Im really needing to keep it all under $800. (My pc is a Dell Inspiron 1521 with Radeon x1270 chip). Thanks.
__________________

figueroa4 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Why can my graphics chip play games its not supposed to?

What's the motherboard?
__________________

__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Why can my graphics chip play games its not supposed to?

The forums say it won't play, because it won't play at great resolutions...

When you say your budget is 800, is that for a new computer?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I play Company of Heroes just by buying a graphics card? benjaminlee92 System Upgrades 10 09-07-2009 12:55 AM
Upgrading my comp to play 2 Games [Silk Road, Soldier Front] Flavour6 System Upgrades 3 07-10-2008 09:36 PM
can't play games on specific resolutions... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-04-2007 09:43 PM
Wiikey - Testing the Nintendo Wii Modchip Osiris Nintendo 0 04-02-2007 11:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.