While I'm at it................ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 12:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
It totally depends on whether or not you want to hold off. I'd personally just go with a s939 setup... It's not like they're slow or anything. And boys, we need to start saying this right. It is no longer socket M2. It is socket AM2.

Ryan
LOL, Your right. AM2 board it is. Just seems simpler to say M2.

Anyway, I'm not sure whether I want to hold off or not.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 01:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

come on, you can do it, just say "i can hold it"
__________________

wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 01:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wxt38
come on, you can do it, just say "i can hold it"

I suppose I could hold off, but my trigger finger is real itchy. LOL
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 06:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

however it all depends on you, i mean if you planed to go with the new AMD socket then why not new dx10 graphic cards, but personally i would just go for the 939 socket.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Don't worry about the dx10 and stuff just go with the AMD 939 socket and you well be fine.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:37 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blackmoore
All of the cases by Antec are great choices as well. They are solid, heavy, and well made. Putting a PC together in one of their full tower cases is a breeze. All of the drives are screwed in outside the case, and all you have to do is slide them in. I think there is room for 5, 80mm Fans, which are all screwless, and just snap in.

I'd recommend they're cases to anyone. I will never again concider a bargain case for any of my systems. It just makes things so much easier in the end, and its one of those things that is probably the most comprimized in price. Don't ever make the mistake of saying "Well if I buy the $20 Case, I can get the Such and Such Video card with the money I will save." Its not worth it if your one who really cares about your systems, or one who is anal about every little thing being perfect like I am.
Unless he is going to be takign that case everywheres there is no need for a nice solid heavy case like that, I agree it is a nice case. Sometimes you have to go cheaper in the long run if you have a budget and not all cheap cases are bad (thats where your reading of reviews comes in!) I am going to say go with a mid. tower case unless you plan on liq. cooling the computer. My mid size case has more then enought room for me to work in and about being screwless..unless u don't have 2 arms and you want to be lazy and pay more then go for it altho most times(for me) unscrewing and putting it back in the case takes only 2 secs.

My Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144102
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:09 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

check this case out
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146018

its a really awesome case, look slike kinda stylish and professional.
Running is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Jayare012 Send a message via Yahoo to Jayare012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
WOW, I like that case alot. I didnt realize there were so many good looking cases out there. It's gonna be a hard choice. lol

Would this PS work with that case?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703001

As long as its a standard atx psu then it will fit in that case.
__________________
Graphics Card Guide
Jayare012 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just go with s939, AM2 is just a revision of 939/940 anyway. basically they've worked DDR2 support into the memory controller, changed the heatsink fan retainer and slightly changed the pinout to stop people from accidentally using one of the new AM2 cpu's on an old board. there is not enough of a technological improvement to justify the wait.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:42 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
just go with s939, AM2 is just a revision of 939/940 anyway. basically they've worked DDR2 support into the memory controller, changed the heatsink fan retainer and slightly changed the pinout to stop people from accidentally using one of the new AM2 cpu's on an old board. there is not enough of a technological improvement to justify the wait.

Yeah, you guys are probably right. One thing though, doesnt the new mobo mean new video cards?
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.