Where would you recommend I place temp probes on the GA-990XFA-UD3? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2012, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Where would you recommend I place temp probes on the GA-990XFA-UD3?

Hi again!

Ok, just getting ready to slap the GA-990XFA-UD3 back into the computer case, but remembered I need to think about where I will place 4 specific temp probes within the case. In my Intel rig here is where I placed the temperature probes using the Scythe "KAZE MASTER ACE " 5.25" Bay Fan Controller- Black (KM02-BK):

Channel 1 CPU
Channel 2 Northbridge
Channel 3 Southbridge
Channel 4 RAM

I see an extra heat sink on this GA-990XFA-UD3 [is that the marvelous Marvel controller]?

Anyway, please give me some suggestions as to where you would place the temp probes on this new system.

As always, thank you very, very much!

Soar
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GA 990XFA-UD3 Build pic 1.jpg (100.9 KB, 39 views)
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Where would you recommend I place temp probes on the GA-990XFA-UD3?

I would skip the Southbridge and attach a probe to the mosfet heatsink located to the left of the cpu socket.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Where would you recommend I place temp probes on the GA-990XFA-UD3?

Slay,

Thanks for the reply. Quick question: do those MOSFET's tend to heat up more than the Southbridge's?

Example: on my Intel rig, the CPU is presently at 22C, NB is 36.6C, SB is 27.2C and the RAM is 26.4.

Soar

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where should I place my fan probes to control case fans? earwicker7 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-26-2010 07:44 PM
What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-06-2010 11:50 PM
where to place CPU temp probe? Antec-User New Systems | Building and Buying 1 02-23-2009 10:14 AM
Temp Probes for LED Display. brady New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-24-2006 06:07 PM
temp probes Jesse the Body Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-29-2005 12:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.