where to setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default where to setup?

Hey,

Where's the ideal place to setup all the equipment? Just because I know about ESD, etc... and I have one of those wrist strap things but dont have an ESD mat or anything like that?

Any recommendations?
__________________

billru44 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Default

when i setup my comp i went to the kitchen, it has a tile floor and i took my socks off. Little risk of static damage. Also, any room without carpet is ideal to me (except the bathroom obviously) and a place that leaves little room for static shock to occur.
Hope this helps.
__________________

malushi88 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

if u have a wooden table, that'll do it.

well i usually etup all equipment on the carpet. just make sure u r wearing that wrist strap or touch the case before touching components.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

On the hardwood floor. Without socks, and dont move a lot
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

My whole house is wood floor, I hate carpets, it gives your house a stuffy feeling.

I also don't wear socks (well actually I never do unless I'm outside), and I try to wear short sleeve shirts and shorts.

But of course, I live in California, the weather here doesn't get too cold. If it was freezing, I wouldn't really be working on my computer tho.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

You really should worry too much.....most components are pretty well shielded and do not store memory.....
I guess using the anti-static band would be ok.....but I dont even use that anymore....
__________________

shdwsclan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.