where to put my SSD drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2014, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default where to put my SSD drive

so I have this old SSD drive. the noa series that has issues with half capacity slow down

I don't want it to just sit and collect dust

I have a g62 HP laptop tht I bought cdrom hard drive tray for and its in it now just sittin.

so heres my 2 options and I don't have detailed knowledge to pick what would be better option

1 I can copy the laptop OS on the ssd drive and swap them around making the nova ssd a system drive and gain some speed. and leave the laptop original HD in the cdrom tray for storage.


2 I can install the nova into my desktop and dedicate the 25gb gb of the drive only to be used as virtual memory and nothing else.

I have the Samsung 850 series SSD now as system drive and windows keeps asking to create virtual memory space every time I restart so I figure out of all hard drives the nova would be perfect


what you guys think is better choice and why
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: where to put my SSD drive

btw im gonna try updating the firmware on it like the internet says to improve the performance
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: where to put my SSD drive

If you need speed on the laptop then I say do that. Using an SSD for a pagefile will trash it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: where to put my SSD drive

its kinda trash to begin with lol i can only use half of it
its the nova 60gb that slows down after its over 50% full
how long are we talking about before it dies if used as pagefile?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: where to put my SSD drive

There's really no telling.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Re: where to put my SSD drive

Lee Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: where to put my SSD drive

And the point of that was?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to put how to put music on your lg optimus g 2600? john88450 Apple and Mac 1 01-14-2013 03:36 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM
What type of music can I put in a documentary?(its a movie..and i need to put backrnd Rawan AbuSalman Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 01-05-2006 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.