When to buy my new processor... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2006, 09:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default When to buy my new processor...

I've been holding off buying a new processor for a while, the P4 2.8 Northwood handles everything reasonably well, but I'd like to do a fairly major system upgrade in the next couple months. I've been back and forth between some of the mid-range, overclockable Intel dual-core chips (high $100's on newegg) vs the slightly more expensive athlon 64 x2 3800 (high $200's on newegg). However, some recent articles shed some light on new processor technology from both companies set to hit later this year, as early as fall. Just looking for some opinions, nothing urgent...

What would everyone do in this case? Is there something fantasic right around the corner worth waiting for, or is it just another small jump in processor tech?

Thanks for the help!

Richard
__________________

regeisle is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 09:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Tomorrow, the Conroe will hit the stores [Or so it has been said by Intel, the manufacturer]

At sometime in the 20'th of july supposdly the 26'th in July [or was it 24? I forgot] AMD Will be lowering the prices on nearly all of their products, including the X2's.

However the conroe has an arhcitechtural advantages over any AMD chip out there for now... at least untill AMD can catch up.

Do you'r math, I Myself going to buy a Conroe as soon as I Can get my hands on one [the E6600 seems to be fairly well].

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

if ur going for a Conroe get the E6600 (btw the retail name is Intel Core 2 Duo), becuase the ones before E6600, like the E6400 and so forth, have 2 MB L2 cache, where has the E6600 and up have 4MB L2Cache, but the only difference between the E6600 and up is the clock speeds which you can OC it urself to those speeds.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

i myself doesn't have enough money to spend on a new rig so i'll just buy a x2 3800 and overclock it.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.