Whats will Run Faster? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2006, 08:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Intel CPU's don't have their own memory controller. they use one that's on the Motherboard Northbridge, which acts as a bridge between CPU and RAM.
this is the reason AMD K8 CPU's get high memory bandwith

but anyway, the performance of Intel's memory controllers vary between different chipsets. but generally they also run better with 2 sticks

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50

Ok thanks. Also can someone tell me what 'matched' RAM is? Is it like whether or not two sticks are able to run dual channel? I bought a 2x 512MB kit so is anything in the kit usually matched?

AMD Athlon 64 +3200 \'Venice\'
XpertVision GF6600GT 256MB PCI-E
2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR RAM
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
SuperFlower 500W PSU
X-Blade 511 Case
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
Nemesis1331 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 09:07 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932


Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 03:52 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84

Before you all jump on me, I know this is high-end stuff. However, it explains memory very well.


The thing to note is, the memory timings don't mean squat with the AMD 64 processors, because the memory controler is on the die. Therefore, the memory is communicating directly with the processor and not with the controler on the North Bridge.

Please see this area especially:

The basic understanding (An AMD Athlon XP3200+ Barton 2.2Ghz 200Mhz FSB 32bit CPU)
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 03:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506

Originally posted by Leyroy_J
That a load of crap.
The memory would have to be run in 2T then.
Also stablility would decrease and so would overclockability.
Looser timings would have to be used just to gain stable performance.

1T is about a 5% increase.
Originally posted by b1gapl
What does the T stand for?
Originally posted by Leyroy_J
Not to sure, It should be in the BIOS marked as command rate.
haha now thats funny.

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.