What's up with all the Opterons? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2005, 12:55 PM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

For clarifications, Opterons were originally intended for workstation use and originated on the socket 940 package using ECC memory...they were bridged to socket 939 as an alternative for smaller businesses with tighter budgets wanting an Opteron without the more expensive ECC memory

I believe the only thing that seperates the Opteron processors from the Athlons is the fact that the Opterons are speedbinned and/or vcorebinned much more extensively than Athlons for stability purposes...one could say that Opterons use a higher quality silicon than an Athlon but in reality a Venus is simply a San Diego which has been tested more extensively
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 05:32 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I know Opteron's were originally intended for servers, that's why I'm kind of sitting the fence. Does anyone have a link to a benchmark of an Opterton vs an Athlon in gaming?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 08:56 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Well as I said all K8 architecture is the same therefore one processor of the same core frequency, HTT frequency and cache size is the equivelent of any other K8 processor of the same core frequency, HTT frequency and cache size

The only differences between the Opteron and Athlon that I have found are that the Opterons have multiple HTT links, used for communicating between one another in a multiprocessor enviroment, which is irrelevent in a socket 939 enviroment, and like I mentioned above, most people seem to believe that Opterons are tested slightly harder than Athlons for stability purposes therefore Opterons should in theory yield higher overclocks

Basically you're not looking at any difference between a 144 and a 3700+ except maybe a few FPS which is ridiculous to base your purchase on
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 11:42 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well said! I think that Opterons are fine, but if your gaming, just sticjk with an Athlon. Opterons would be awesome if companies like Tyan could make dual-processor boards that supported PCI-E instead of AGP so it wouldn't necessarily bottleneck :|
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 11:56 AM   #35 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Well said! I think that Opterons are fine, but if your gaming, just sticjk with an Athlon. Opterons would be awesome if companies like Tyan could make dual-processor boards that supported PCI-E instead of AGP so it wouldn't necessarily bottleneck :|
lol

Quote:
The only differences between the Opteron and Athlon that I have found are that the Opterons have multiple HTT links, used for communicating between one another in a multiprocessor enviroment, which is irrelevent in a socket 939 enviroment, and like I mentioned above, most people seem to believe that Opterons are tested slightly harder than Athlons for stability purposes therefore Opterons should in theory yield higher overclocks
So why is the Opteron cheaper than the Athlon if they can get higher clocks, have better silicon and have been tested more?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.