Whats the performance Difference between... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to ZeroStrife49
Default Whats the performance Difference between...

Athlon 64 3800+ and Athlon 64 X2 3800+?

Also, anybody know what the price of Athlon 4600+ will be at this time next year?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
K . D . M
ZeroStrife49 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

X2 is a dual core CPU, these are very different CPU's. One has 2 cores, 1 has one. I am not sure if I can get this across anymore.

Anyways, according to my fortune teller, she says the 4600+ shall be worth $768.87
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to ZeroStrife49
Default

I know that X2 is dual core, and what dual core is, i just wanted to kno if there would be a drastic performance difference between getting 64 or 64X2.

Thanks
__________________
K . D . M
ZeroStrife49 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Obviously in multi-threaded apps and when multi-tasking, yes. There will be a substantial increase in performance.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 10:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

in multi tasking yes, but gaming might be the same or less
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 10:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Gaming will be the same until the makers write the games to utilize the 2 cores. So in gaming a 3800 will perform the same as a 3800 X2.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 10:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

but X2 still kicks butt^
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.