What's the next logical upgrade? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2013, 05:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

I have to run for now, I really appreciate your help I will throw in the ram when I get back and turn off everything in the background when i get back. I'll also make sure my drivers are updated. My 930 isn't overclocked in the slightest and is at 2.8 Idk if that will make any difference. I have around a 500~ dollar budget for an upgrade

Edit: been a while since a fresh install of windows maybe I'll do that as well.
__________________

dhise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Yea I really don't want you to waste your money if you don't have to. From December till February I was using my backup setup which is an i5 750. I had no problems with it and a single 580. Both of your parts are more powerful, so you should have no problems playing any of these games.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhise View Post
I couldn't find an AA in WoW but my GPU config just has it default to On. My GPU usage at the time of of 30-35 fps is 44% and 41 degrees. Here's a screen of some info http://i.imgur.com/UJWjyEb.png
try turning the default to off. let the program decide the settings.

your rig should handle all this fine.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

So I bought a AMD 8320 with 8 gigs of ram today. Using 8 gigs of ddr3 ram and in stormwind on ultra I only have 20-25 FPS.
dhise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Take it back, money totally wasted. Are you running a fresh install?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Yeah it's a complete fresh install. Yeah I will bring it back tomorrow. I was so pumped to get better performance.
dhise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Yea, I was rather certain it wasn't your CPU. Not only that, a better option would have been a 3330 or 3570k, not the 8320.

Did you install the latest WHQL, or beta drivers?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Yeah i just got the newest drivers. Another thing.. I put my friends asus gtx 670 in as well and my pc for some reason wouldn't pick it up
dhise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
WoW is seriously quite dated even with their "improvements" and I can't see an i7 930 being any kind of bottleneck to it in the least.
Yeah, my sisters Q9450 rig i built her years back just shi8s all over that game, i cant imagine that a way faster i7 would be doing worse.

I would say something is very badly configured!

My guess is that your version of wow is based on the Single core version and all the other junk that you have still running in the background is also running on your first core. You are likely overtasking one core while the others do very little work. In task manager you can switch wow do a different core or split the core load between more then one cpu.

We need the exact rig info that you run man, can you give us the DXDIAG text?
__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: What's the next logical upgrade?

I can't post the DxDiag since it's too long. How should I upload it?
__________________

dhise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.