What's holding back my PC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2010, 04:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Question What's holding back my PC?

I am currently having problems playing starcraft 2 and I was wondering if one of my PC components is holding back my systems performance.

Tech Specs:

Dell XPS 400

CPU- Intel Pentium D 2.8 Ghz

Memory- 4GB (2GB at 533 MHz and 2GB at 667 MHz)

I just upgraded my memory from from 2GB to 4GB and didn't really notice that much of a change, especially in SC2.

Video Card- Radeon HD 4850 1GB at 1280 x 1024 resoultion

PSU -375W

When playing starcraft 2, my screen often goes black during loading screens and takes over two minutes to come back to normal. I have removed old display drivers and updated them and still no change. Also my FPS is very low in game (reaches 1 sometimes and usually hangs around 2-11 in big battles). It recommends ultra settings, but I can hardly manage playing on medium settings. I was hoping that doubling the RAM to 4GB would solve the problem but it hasn't. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Alex N.
__________________

Musketman007 is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 04:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

What's your OS? 32 or 64 bit?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 04:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

Might be a wild guess but Ive had this problem before. Your power supply might not be powerful enough to supply the juice to your system, especially when under load. I'm guessing it's a cheap unbranded one. you may want to upgrade the power supply to something bigger to ensure stability such as :

OCZ StealthXStream 2 500W Power Supply - Aria Technology

or :

OCZ OCZ400SXS-UK StealthXStream 400W Silent ATX2.2 Power Supply - Aria PC

That's just my thoughts as the restof your system seems fine.

- Josh.
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 04:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPROTechman View Post
Might be a wild guess but Ive had this problem before. Your power supply might not be powerful enough to supply the juice to your system, especially when under load. I'm guessing it's a cheap unbranded one. you may want to upgrade the power supply to something bigger to ensure stability such as :

OCZ StealthXStream 2 500W Power Supply - Aria Technology

or :

OCZ OCZ400SXS-UK StealthXStream 400W Silent ATX2.2 Power Supply - Aria PC

That's just my thoughts as the restof your system seems fine.

- Josh.
+1 I didn't see till now what your psu was that's definitely a downer
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

32 bit, and the PSU is the stock one that came with the xps 400. I just spent 200 bucks upgrading my system, I feel like I'm slowly replacing every component in my system. I have never replaced a PSU before though, Is it difficult? Many of the wires seem to go into places that I won't be able to get into.

Also, you guys don't think my CPU is holding back my system at all do you?
Musketman007 is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

your CPU is probably bottlenecking your HD 4850. however, it shouldn't cause black screens.

2 possible causes I think why the black screen is occuring;

1. same as above, your power supply is not providing enough power.
2. something is over heating.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

With a 32-bit operating system you can only fully harness 3 gigs of ram so 1 gig isn't doing anything and It MIGHT being throwing off your balance for dual channel.

Would you kindly download cpuz and HWmonitor and post a screen shot of cpuz on the memory tab, hwmonitor, and "My Computer" properties?

This way we can see if you're running dual channel and see your temps
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

Musketman007 is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

you should probably update your BIOS for better performance
Fernade10 is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: What's holding back my PC?

So you're only harnessing 3.5gb of ram out of 4 so thats one issue that would be fixed by upgrading to 64bit but besides that I don't know why it would lag besides being underpowered
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hmm I THINK it may be my mobo holding me back... c0rr0sive Overclocking and Modding 5 08-12-2008 11:59 AM
What is holding me back in games? AMD6415 System Upgrades 9 09-08-2007 10:46 PM
what's holding my pc back? Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 33 08-22-2007 03:40 AM
Whats holding me back? Leonidas Overclocking and Modding 13 12-01-2004 09:44 AM
Holding me back? DyNaStY336 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 06-08-2004 01:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.