What's the fastest processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default What's the fastest processor?

....out of these two, which would be the faster combination.

3400+ Newcastle on a s754 nForce3 board

3200+ Venice on a s939 nForce4 board

what should I get?
__________________

Tyr is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Out of the box, the 3400+ is faster. As far as upgrades and overclocks go, I'd buy the Venice, hands down.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

That's what I thought. I just wanted to make sure that the s939 architecture didn't make the 3200+ Venice faster. haha

Yeah, I'll probably get the 3400+ because the guy I'm building the computer for isn't going to be overclocking or even upgrading the CPU anytime in the foreseeable future.

edit: Whoa, I didn't mean to post this in the overclocking section, my bad!
Tyr is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

not necessary, as if you are building with 1 gb (2 x 512 mb) for exampl, the 939 platform will allow dual channel while the 754 does not, so the 939 will be even if not outperform the 754 overall
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The 3200+ is better... You'd be stupid to get 754.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

So you're saying that dual channel makes that much of a difference? Having your ram running in dual channel will make up for 400Mhz of speed in the CPU? I'm not so sure about that......anyone else have an opinion about this?
Tyr is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

yea get the 3200...dual channel has a much bigger performance boost than .2 ghz.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by will h4x 4 food
yea get the 3200...dual channel has a much bigger performance boost than .2 ghz.
Actually it has barely any difference at all, but 939 is still a better idea. You can easily OC that 3200+ by 0.2ghz.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Actualy dual channel has a bigger effect than anybody thinks. What 939 has that 754 dosent IS the dual channel capability which gives for alot more memory bandwidth than signel channel. More memory bandwidth means alot and will sure mean more than a 200mhz clock.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

acually it's a 400MHz clock difference between the 3200+ and the 3400+.....

but yeah I probably will go with s939 just for the sake of being able to upgrade alot further.

I may not be able to overclock this system at all because it is not for me. I'm building this system for my uncle and I'm not sure how he feels about overclocking.

Anyway I'll go with s939 then for the reason I said.
__________________

Tyr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.