What's ECC Config? And AMD Live? (BIOS) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2008, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default What's ECC Config? And AMD Live? (BIOS)

I have these options in my BIOS, I was wondering what I should set them at..

ECC Configuration
AMD Live!

I have the cool and quiet disabled. Should I turn it back on? Or will that effect the processor voltage?

Rig details in Sig. Does anyone have an up to date BIOS recommendation walk through? I found one through Google, but it was old. I've got an ASUS M3A32MVP Delux AM2 Pin MoBo w/ a 9950 Phenom.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: What's ECC Config? And AMD Live? (BIOS)

I believe ECC stands for Error Correcting Code Memory, or Error Checking and Correcting Capability. It checks data for accuracy as it passes in and out of the memory.

What are your options in BIOS, ECC on/off/auto?

Just turn it off. ECC is a function most used in servers and workstations, as household DDR2 doesnt see many soft errors.

As far as AMD Live!, here is what it consists of: AMD Live! - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. If it was me, i'd leave it disabled, but if your into all that then it wouldn't hurt to enable it i suppose.

I would leave Cool n' Quiet disabled unless you prefer the power saving features of it lowering the clock rate and voltage of your CPU. I never fancied that.
__________________

MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What's ECC Config? And AMD Live? (BIOS)

Ah.. Cool.. thanx do0d.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: What's ECC Config? And AMD Live? (BIOS)

Anytime.
MrLoLeR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.