What's better? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 01:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Okay, so I decided everyone is right, Im being stupid in my stuborn ways, ill go AMD. I did a bit of looking around, Is this a good rig? Is it good value for money? Am I forgetting anything?

PSU - 350Watt
GPU - GEFORCE FX 5500 256MB DDR TV 8X
CPU - AMD Athlon64X2 4400+ (PIB) 2.2 GHZ, 939-Pin Processor 2X1MB DUAL CORE HT2000 HyperTransport
RAM - 1GB PC400 DDR (Ill get 2)
Hard Drive - 200GB-7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sound Card - CREATIVE FG SB LINE 24-BIT
I have not yet found a motherboard

I can get this all for $1300
__________________

dnoch is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Horrible Graphics card..

What power supply?

what RAM?

how much are you paying for that sound card

Good CPU though.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

That video card is a sh!tter...

I you're going to spend that kinda cash on a processor, i'd buy at least a 6600GT to go with it...

Again, whats your purpose for this computer?
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Okay, ill change the graphics card
Come on, 2GB of ram is suficient!
I can get a better PSU, but this one comes with the case, I would effectively have to buy the case, throw away the PSU and spend more money on another PSU. Is 350W really not suficient?

The computer will be used for Games, music, internet browsing, DVD burning, graphics designing etc. Bear in mind that I often have many programs running at once, and im very impacient.

Is the price good?
Can anyone recommend a good (and obviously compatible) motherboard?

EDIT: Hows this Graphics card:
GeForce 6600GT 256MB DDR3 PCI-X16 DVI + TV Out SLI (XFX)
This brings the price to $1450
dnoch is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Its not so much that 350 watts isn't enough, well it isn't but also generic PSU's and ones that come with cases are extremly crappy, Usally, excluding Antec ones. Look around at newegg for a 450 or 400 watt forton one, they are both pretty cheap.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Shipping will be a bit of a problem from newegg, as I live in South Africa
dnoch is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

oh ya, that will be a problem. Nvm then.

Just try to stick to.

Vantec
Enermax
Forton
Antec

Im sure you can find one of those somewhere...
Ste is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Ill have a look.
Is everything else all right?
Thanks a lot for all your help
dnoch is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 02:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

The powersupply is important, expecially with such expensive hardware.... i would definatly not use the generic PSU that comes with your case...

to add to Ste's list though

CoolerMaster
TAGAN
Seasonic
PCP&C
-------------------------------------
Dont be fooled by the 6600GT's High clock speed and 256ram.

Clock speed and Ram are only 2 pieces of the equation.

Here in the Unites States, the 6800GS is the same price or cheaper then the 6600GT 256mb.

the 6600GT 128mb version will perform almost exactly the sam as the 256 version.

the Standard 6800 will also outperform the 6600GT 256, because the 6800 has 256bit bandwitch aposed the the 6600GT's 128bit, and it has 12piplines aposed to the 66GTs 8piplines.

Granted the 6600GT 128mb version is decent and prices decently were i live at leats... but it is not the best bang for your buck anymore. the 256mb version is overpriced a lot.

EDIT: in case you were wondering, i have used the 6600GT 128mb and the 6800 128mb AGP cards... and this is how they compaired to each other....

6600GT -
Doom3's Time Demo1
High settings, 1024x res, 2xAA, 8xAF = 54fps

6800 -
Doom3's Time Demo 1
Ultra settings, 1024x res, 2xAA, 16xAF = 57fps
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 02:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

dnoch- i think u should go with 6800GS since it has the same price as 6600GT
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.