What would you do first? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2006, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Question What would you do first?

My family including me have noticed the decreasing speed of the computer.

I clean the computer alot with ccleaner and any other tools I can find.

I regularly scan for malware using Panda Antivirus regularly.

My computer is very slow at startup and shutdown and any other tasks it does.

I have been told RAM would greatly increase my system performance as I only have 256mb of it however I think my processor does not look too good. My system info is below.

I do not want to spend lots of cash on it though.

Operating System: Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 2
System Manufacturer: ECS
System Model: M848A
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.4GHz
Memory: 256MB DDR-SDRAM PC2700
Graphics: 128mb Nvidia Geforce MX4000

rik is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 61

Upgrade your socket A processor, its easy, check on ebay for socket A processors. And add a stick of 512mb pc3200, it will slow down to pc2700 speeds automatically.

morgster is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4

So I need to buy a new socket A processor before I upgrade any RAM.
rik is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 106

well is it posibel to gett spcket A prossesor anymore?'I have given up on that.

anywhy is the pc slower than it was?
Perhaps c drive is to full or heavy defragmented.

memory upgrade is needed. think 512 is minimum.

When it comes too furter upgrade i wud change the mobo to 939. realy not that xpensive. and then buy a amd64 athlon 3700 realy not xpensive this either.
and ill bet that if u find a socket a cpu it most likly costs more than a amd64... Atleast here in Norway..
Tjukken is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4

Thanks morgster and Tjukken,

I will buy more RAM then and look into a new processor.
rik is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

yeah, your first step is ram. you hardly have enough to run XP, so when you open a program, it's going to move slow. Socket A processors aren't in production anymore, except for some mobile processors I think, but e-bay is your friend in this area. You can get a 2200+ or something around there for a reasonable price. You'll be good to go again after you get that stuff done!



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.