what vid card suits my comp ? :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2005, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default what vid card suits my comp ? :)

Hi everyone, im kinda new to here

can i have some help on getting a new video card please

currently i have : ( its low end, bought it long time ago)

AMD sempron 2600+ @ 1.8ghz
512 ram ( dont know the number after "pc" , sorry )
ATi radeon 9550 with 128MB video ram ( AGP )

can i get a 6600GT ? will my cpu bottleneck it? and can someone tell me how to check what my PSU is please, i dont know how many watts it is. i hope a 250 watt is enough =(

thanks anyways ! have a nice day
__________________

bonehelm is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

actually, you're about right. A 6600GT would be about right for your computer.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Default

hi buddies

have you seen loser link removed
its a great site for hardware products
tony is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

whats your psu, thats probably the main factor a 6600GT would be good. a 9800pro is good, especially mines
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

UPDATE information about my motherboard

manufacturer : ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

Model : A7V8X-X

Chipset : VIA KT400A


hmm so is my mobo compaitable with 6600GT? also, what program checks what watt your psu is ? thanks a lot guys !
bonehelm is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

hmm, theres a physical way of checking to see your wattage..
take the side panel off your computer and if you know what a psu looks like, find it.. (upper left hand corner) and it should say xxx watts on the side.. xxx being the number of how many watts it is

~Static
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you need to open your case and look for a watt rating. It's on the big sticker. Also, take a look at your +12V rating is. Ideally, I think you're gonna want 15ish at a minimum.

You have an AGP 8x slot. You'll be just fine upgrading. Make sure your 6600GT is AGP 8x compatible, and you'll be golden.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Its a good card for your computer. Although your CPU probably needs a upgrade too.
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

Big hug !!! thanks guys you've made my life easier for me !

thanks again and have a cool day !
bonehelm is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

ok i checked - 110 watt to 240 watt.

so...6600GT...i think no ? too hot?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.