What upgrade should I get (details inside) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2012, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to cwuarre
Default What upgrade should I get (details inside)

My current rig is
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2 Hz 125w
XFX Radeon HD 6950 1 gb 256 bit
ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s ATX AMD Motherboard
G.Skill Ripjaws series 2x2gb DDR3
Antec 550w power supply
My goal is
to play Battlefield 3 on High settings at 1920x1080 with Itunes and Firefox in the background (browser required for bf3)
I realize there isnt some exact specifications to achieve this but I also know there are some very experienced people who could recommend a few replacements to reach my goal.
If any tests can be run or if any further information can be provided let me know.
Thanks, Sean
__________________

cwuarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Eh, honestly you should be able to already? How many programs do you normally have going at once? And by programs I mean total processes and RAM usage BEFORE loading BF3 (in game).
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to cwuarre
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Thanks for a quick response
83 processes
35% cpu usage
42% physical memory
Firefox(a browser is required), Origin(required), Itunes

Thats without BF3

~95% cpu usage
72% physical memory on medium settings, near empty server though
cwuarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

That is why. Half your resources are going to background tasks hogging your CPU and RAM. Get rid of some of those processes and you'll find you don't really need an upgrade.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to cwuarre
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
That is why. Half your resources are going to background tasks hogging your CPU and RAM. Get rid of some of those processes and you'll find you don't really need an upgrade.
Wow, that worked wonders haha I was skeptical at first. I tried to end tree for all the processes with my username and then High settings was a breeze. I have a new goal then, what would I need for ultra settings?
cwuarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwuarre View Post
Wow, that worked wonders haha I was skeptical at first. I tried to end tree for all the processes with my username and then High settings was a breeze. I have a new goal then, what would I need for ultra settings?
You should still be able to do Ultra with that machine. I do it myself and my video card isn't as powerful as yours. If you want absolutely smooth FPS I would suggest upgrading your CPU/Mobo to a 2500k or 3570k. Or you can cheap out, get an H80 or H100 and OC the crap out of your 955
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 01:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to cwuarre
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You should still be able to do Ultra with that machine. I do it myself and my video card isn't as powerful as yours. If you want absolutely smooth FPS I would suggest upgrading your CPU/Mobo to a 2500k or 3570k. Or you can cheap out, get an H80 or H100 and OC the crap out of your 955
Lol, well im admittedly not very tech savvy. What do the 2500k/3570k and h80/h100 refer to?
I have never overclocked my processor, if I replaced my mobo with a nice one and began overclocking would that be a noticeable difference? I dont really want to spend $200+ on a new cpu
cwuarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 06:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

2500K/3570K are high-end consumer Intel CPUs. H80/H100 are Corsair water-cooling solutions.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 11:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Your board is fine for overclocking. If you want to experiment in OCing your 955 then you will need good cooling.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 01:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to cwuarre
Default Re: What upgrade should I get (details inside)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Your board is fine for overclocking. If you want to experiment in OCing your 955 then you will need good cooling.
I do have an after market cpu fan that I bought because I couldnt install the factory fan properly lol. In my defense it was my first build.
Could I try overclocking since I have that? I have no idea how to overclock, and I know ive tried before. Also I leave the side of my case off when I game because I figure that will improve air flow.

Edit: I just found this Asus AI Suite program, I think I use this to overclock
__________________

cwuarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small Minecraft Server, details inside Gothch1ck PC Gaming 0 08-05-2011 02:13 AM
Need to build a new PC, please help (Details inside) King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-14-2009 10:25 PM
Unable to upload files to website...more details inside tgyap Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 06-24-2008 01:32 PM
WTB decent sata HDD details inside xenium Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 06-15-2006 04:06 AM
Corsair or generic? 1gb or 2? for my build (details inside) cgcaver New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-16-2005 11:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.