What to upgrade on this comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2007, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 119
Default What to upgrade on this comp

Hey guys I just got in possesion of Viao computer, and coming from Core 2 Duo to this computer is a nightmare. I'm pullin my hairs out when i try to multitask. I wanna upgrade it a little for multitaskin. U know the regular, playing around with videos songs, photoshops just a lot of stuff at once, so far this computer is garbage Main concern is What Video Card to put in this *******, nothing for high end games, just enough for watchin movies and good graphics overall.

Sony Viao PCV-RS 310

2.4Ghz Pentium
256 Ram DDR PC2100
Integrated Video Card 64Mb
__________________

sumik is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: What to upgrade on this comp

I cant find that computer model on-line can you post me a link??? you will need more Ram for multi-tasking
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: What to upgrade on this comp

grab a 512 or 1GB stick of ram if you want to do any kind of multitasking.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 08:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default Re: What to upgrade on this comp

Yes, the major limitation of the PC you mentioned is RAM. With 1GB of total RAM, it will be much smoother.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What to upgrade on this comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I cant find that computer model on-line can you post me a link??? you will need more Ram for multi-tasking
yes i can
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What to upgrade on this comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumik View Post
Hey guys I just got in possesion of Viao computer, and coming from Core 2 Duo to this computer is a nightmare. I'm pullin my hairs out when i try to multitask. I wanna upgrade it a little for multitaskin. U know the regular, playing around with videos songs, photoshops just a lot of stuff at once, so far this computer is garbage Main concern is What Video Card to put in this *******, nothing for high end games, just enough for watchin movies and good graphics overall.

Sony Viao PCV-RS 310

2.4Ghz Pentium
256 Ram DDR PC2100
Integrated Video Card 64Mb
Newegg has this 1GB ram that i think is pretty cheap and this great video card to go with it!
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 49
Default Re: What to upgrade on this comp

Ram And Ram And Ram - This Is All What You Need
__________________

__________________
http://www.EnvisionComp.com
CompShack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant burn to Imation 16x DVD-R!! Cant upgrade DVD-RW firmware either!! Rawan AbuSalman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-17-2007 05:34 PM
upgrade to vista j3wcl@w Microsoft Windows and Software 23 03-30-2007 01:27 AM
Upgrade for my comp. MoBo, RAM, Cooling. cementshoes New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-30-2007 12:24 AM
Why Can't I Upgrade... Vista Hates Me saywhat5959 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-29-2007 11:37 PM
Next upgrade? VincentVega New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-29-2007 02:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.