What to upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2006, 09:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default What to upgrade?

Hi i have had my computer that was bought for me for over 18 months now and was wondering what to upgrade :

Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Hard Drive: 180gb
Ram : 1gb ( but i dont know the speed of it ie. 2700 or 3200 etc.)
Graphics Card: Radeon 9800 SE 256mb
Sound Card: (Getting a Creative Sound Blaster Audigy-4 7.1 OEM)
Motherboard : First International Computer, Inc. P4M-800M PCB 1.x ( Copied off Belarc Advisor )
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Mouse: Logitech MX1000
Keyboard: Logitech G15
Speakers: (getting Creative Inspire T5900 5.1 Speakers)

istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

What do you want to do? How much money do you have?

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

I guess it's safe to assume that you're a gamer. So, here's my suggestions:

I was going to suggest a RAM upgrade, but I'd wait and get a Conroe whenever they come out and then get a compatible motherboard with new DDR2 RAM (2GB). And possibly upgrade to a 7900GT video card if you don't want to wait for an 8 series.
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33

All i want to do is basically play games and have a good machine lol. Do you know how i find out what ram i am using?
istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

Download cpu-z and look under the memory tab

Depends on what kind of settings do you want to play at?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

If you are looking to improve the gaming abilities of your computer, the video card is usually the first choice. Especially since your CPU is still good, and 1GB of RAM is still fine for any games out now.

Judging by your current video card, your motherboard uses and AGP slot. Therefore, the 7800GS would be a great card that still uses AGP.

There is some other things that you might want to consider for upgrades, but it's probably best if you let us know how much money you have to spend.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33

Thanks for the replies. So if i just take my graphics card out and replace it with a new one as long as it as an AGP will it work. Thanks

I download CPU-Z and it came up with :

DDR PC 2700. Is that slow? and how do i find out is there a limit to what i can have up to. I am looking to buy off Scan and if anyone can recommend which memory i should get from it i would be very grateful

istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

FICA only listed the P4M-800T, which I would assume is the retail version of your board.

Here's what it listed:

Intel Northwood 2.4 GHz to 3.2 GHz and above
Intel Celeron up to 2.8GHz
533/800MHz FSB

2 DIMM Slot
DDR 400/333/266 SDRAM support
SPD support
ECC memory support
Max. Cap. Is 1 GB for each channel /2GB total

Expand Slots
1 AGP 8X

So, you can go with DDR400 and actually enjoy the benefits of it.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 11:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33

By the DDR400, is that number in brackets after the Eg. PC 3200 (400). And will it not matter what speed it is ie 3200 or 2700 as mine at the moment is 2700.

By the way where did you find out the info about my board. thanks

Would these work

istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 11:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

Yeah ditch the pc2700 (ddr333) you are using now and get 2x512 of pc3200 (ddr400) That will make a big improvment. I am using a 6800gs/oc and it works very well. I would go the ram route now then buy the best card you can afford.

FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.