What to upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2011, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default What to upgrade?

So i recently bought a Killer Xeno Pro network card and it turns out i dont have a pci x1 slot available. I do have one but my graphics card is blocking it. So i decided its time to upgrade my computer, now my question is what should i be upgrading? I was thinking i could find some shorter graphics card so it does not block the pcie x1 slot which would fix all my issues, or just get a completely new motherboard which i know nothing about. I dont know what to look for so that it is able to use my graphics card and network card my hard drive and processor etc. I would send my system spec information but i forgot what application i used before to send that.

The budget im looking at is no more then $150, I would like to get the upgrade as soon as possible.
__________________

Krevra is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What to upgrade?

We'll need to know what the specs of your current machine are.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: What to upgrade?

Found a decent system spec program~
Its a CyberPower computer CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2085 Desktop PC Phenom II X4 965(3.4GHz) 4GB DDR3 1TB HDD Capacity AMD Radeon HD 6670 (1 GB) Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Windows Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (64-bit) Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)
Internet Explorer 8.0.7601.17514
Memory (RAM) 4096 MB
CPU Info AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor
CPU Speed 3411.7 MHz
Sound Card Speakers (VIA High Definition A
Display Adapters AMD Radeon HD 6600 Series | AMD Radeon HD 6600 Series | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror Driver | RDP Reflector Display Driver
Monitors 1x; Generic PnP Monitor |
Screen Resolution 1920 X 1080 - 32 bit
Network Network Present
Network Adapters NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
CD / DVD Drives D: ATAPI iHAS124 B
Ports COM1 LPT1
Mouse 7 Button Wheel Mouse Present
Hard Disks C: 931.4GB
Hard Disks - Free C: 861.4GB
USB Controllers 2 host controllers.
Firewire (1394) Not Detected
Manufacturer * American Megatrends Inc.
Product Make * System Product Name
AC Power Status OnLine
BIOS Info AT/AT COMPATIBLE | 01/26/11 | 012611 - 20110126
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Battery No Battery
Motherboard * ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4N68T-M-V2
IP Address 192.168.0.4 |
MAC Address F4-6D-04-9D-3E-75
Host Name ATHEIST-PC
System Serial Number System Serial Number
Krevra is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: What to upgrade?

If you yhave a 32nd pcie slot on your mobo, try that.. even if its a full size one.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What to upgrade?

I'd love a mobo with a 32nd PCI-E slot
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: What to upgrade?

This is what im working with, I have no idea as to what 32nd pci-e slot is. I just have a pcie x16 slot and a pcie x1 and then 2 pci slots.
Krevra is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: What to upgrade?

I think he might have meant 2nd PCIe slot...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yerfdog View Post
I think he might have meant 2nd PCIe slot...
Yes, I believe so too.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: What to upgrade?

In that case no I only have 1 pci-e x16 and 1 pci-e x1 slot
Krevra is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: What to upgrade?

Your case will hold an ATX board correct? I would recommend an ATX board so you have more room to grow. like this!


When you decide what your doing PM me if you'd like to sell your current board
__________________

__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.