What type of hard drive do I need!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default What type of hard drive do I need!?

what type of hard drive do I need to get for this motherboard.

ECS P4M900T-M

STORAGE Support by VIAģ VT8237A
4 x Ultra DMA133/100/66 devices
2 x Serial ATA devices
RAID0 & RAID1 configuration

here is a link to all the specs: ECS Web Site

Can I use the SATA 3.0Gb/s?
__________________

speed_ga is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What type of hard drive do I need!?

You can use any hard drive: ATA, PATA, SATA, IDE, etc. As for the SATA harddrives: you can only get speeds up to SATA 1.5Gb/s. But you can use a SATA 3.0Gb/s harddrive, which you need to set to a lower speed setting.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: What type of hard drive do I need!?

Woah, you have the same exact motherboard as I do. Are you running an E6600?

You can either run SATA or IDE. Yes, you can use SATA 3.0GB/s if you remove the jumper on your SATA HDD.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warrington, U.K
Posts: 46
Default Re: What type of hard drive do I need!?

Definitley get a SATA hard drive. I have 4 IDE devices in my PC, them **** cables take up so much room!!
SamPNE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.