What Should I Change? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2009, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ReptiGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 62
Default What Should I Change?

I was given a computer recently because it had a virus on it and the owner couldn't use it any more (The computer is probably around 3-4 years old). I deleted everything off the hard drive (which took of the virus) and installed a new operating system on it.

It is still fairly slow and it freezes for a few seconds every few minutes.

Is there anything that I can change on it to make it go faster? I was thinking about changing the CPU and I would replace the old RAM with two new sticks of RAM.

The computer is a HP Pavilion a808x computer btw.
__________________

ReptiGuy is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: What Should I Change?

s754 3200+
512MB RAM (max 2GB)
160Gb hard drive
SiS760 onboard graphics

Considering a new CPU would be extremely hard to get (not to mention expensive), you can go with RAM and graphics.

Newegg.com - Patriot 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory (for 1GB)
$18

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Value 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory (for 1.5GB)
$29

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Value 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Desktop Memory (replace current ram for 2GB)
$58 w/free shipping

Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR X1650PRO 256/64 AGP Radeon X1650PRO 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards (best bang for the buck AGP)
$45

I only found a few CPUs on eBay that would be an improvement:
3700+
3400+
3400+
3400+
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-10-2009, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: What Should I Change?

Only things worth upgrading would be the RAM or the HDD...I'm stuck in the same boat with a s754 3200+ and good ol' AGP.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ReptiGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: What Should I Change?

Is that the only type of CPU I can get?

I'm definitely still a newb in computer building so I'm not too sure what would be compatible with the computer.

I need to figure out what motherboard the computer has.
ReptiGuy is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 01:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What Should I Change?

cpuz will tell you the motherboard.

CPUID

Trotter is correct about the cpus you can use a socket 754 has been obsolete for around 4 years now.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: What Should I Change?

Pavilion a808x specifications

K8S-LA (Salmon) motherboard specifications

There's your specs.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-11-2009, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ReptiGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: What Should I Change?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
a socket 754 has been obsolete for around 4 years now.
Oh, so that's why. Thanks for letting me know!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Thanks for the links!!!
ReptiGuy is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 10:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: What Should I Change?

How did you delete everything off of the hard drive? I'm not so sure you actually got rid of the virus. Did you install the new OS from a burned copy, or from one that was bought? What anti-virus program did you use to verify that the virus was gone? I'd upgrade the RAM, and video card. The X1650Pro is a good choice, which was stated earlier, or you can get a HD2600XT. Although the X1650Pro is a great card, I wouldn't get the 64-bit version that was suggested, I would pick up a 128-bit version.

Diamond X1650Pro 256MB 128-bit $57 w/ free shipping.
Newegg.com - DIAMOND 1650AGP256T Radeon X1650PRO 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Powercolor X1650Pro 512MB 128-bit $50 ($40 after rebate)
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR X1650PRO 512M AGP Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Powercolor HD2600XT 512MB 128-bit $60 ($40 after rebate)
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR HD2600XT 512M AGP Radeon HD 2600XT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X&#47;8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

As for the ram that was suggested, I would take full advantage of the 2GB kit. With the RAM upgrade and the graphics card upgrade, you're looking at spending around $100, which isn't a bad price to keep a 'dead/out-dated' computer going strong. I'm still running socket A.
__________________

95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Still acting screwy Shana2415 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 10 09-03-2008 11:36 AM
Can't change resolution, help!!! invisible_wall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-13-2008 01:00 PM
Change Boot Volumes? bcbarber Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-02-2008 09:56 AM
IP won't change from wireless bLEEb Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 05-26-2007 06:26 PM
Resolution change for fullscreen video? Broom Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-01-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.