What should I buy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default What should I buy?

I play Battlefield 2 a lot now but my current computer doesn't have enough power. Its an eMachines with 1Gb Corsair memory, built-in ATI Xpress 200, and a 3200 AMD 64 processor.
I'm now looking at something that can handle Battlefield 2 and FEAR no problem for under $1500 if possible. I also do some movie editing with Sony Vegas so it should be able to handle that as well. Any advice?
__________________

TehBestEver is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

DFI Ultra D $110
2GB corsair value $150 (if you have more get OCZ 2225)
OCZ 520w powerstream $110 w/ rebate
eVGA 7800GTX $460 (ACS3)
Thermaltake Tsunami Case $100 w/rebate
NEC DVD RW $40
AMD 3700+ $233
250GB SATA 2 HD $109

$1312
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Thanks for the advice. I'll check it out.
__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to bball100
Default

That motherboard doesn't support corsair value. Get G.Skill or OCZ ram. They are on sale right now at newegg.
__________________
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2x1gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5 ddr400
Opteron 148 Venus core w/ matching Venus heatsink fan
250gb WD SATA2 HDD
evga 7800gt 256mb gddr3
antec truepower II 550w psu
bball100 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

yea I was just checking that out. Ill probably go with the OCZ because of the customizing ability. Thanks anyway!
__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Pump up your curent rig.

As long as the mobo has a PCI-E slot (it should with ATI Xpress 200), slap a card in it.

If you get a big card, be sure to replace the PSU.

You can always add RAM and a bigger CPU.

What model do you have?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

eMachines T6212. I bought it before I got into games.
__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Here's the specs for your mobo:
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...M2-IL&class=mb

You have a PCI-E slot, 4 memory slots (for up to 4 gig). But you only have a 300W PSU.

You can slap in a graphics card, but may want to up your PSU. Crack your case and measure the dimensions of your PSU to find out what will fit, then go shopping at NewEgg for a new PSU.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Thanks. I might just stick with what I have. Upgrade the cpu and video card. Thanks everyone!
__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You need a new power supply also; you can't just toss in a high end card and expect a junk PSU to power it.

OCZ
PC & P (the best)
Thermaltake
Antec
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.