what psu fits? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2009, 08:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default what psu fits?

hi all,

my friend recently got an hp compaq d530 usdt. he wants to upgrade the gpu, but he would have to upgrade the psu to supply it. i tried searching for one, but i dont know what kind of psu fits in this little pc.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 08:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: what psu fits?

Desktop, mini-tower, or ultra-slim?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: what psu fits?

the ultra-slim
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: what psu fits?

Odds are it is only available through HP. Since it is a Compaq model the HP site is next to useless. :/ He will probably have to either call or chat with someone at HP.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: what psu fits?

wow that baby is some custom psu.
Trotter is right HP or ebay will be your best bets.
Here is one where I found a pic of it.
HP Compaq d530 USDT Power Supply ( HP-L1520F3P ) (item 32427344) - Lelong.com.my

Also for updating the gpu, there is not pci-e slot on that board. You also need a low profile short card to fit in that case. It may not be in the cards for him and it might be better to save the money for something else ie new build.

He will probably spend around $150 and that is a third of the way to a pretty nice new build.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 01:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: what psu fits?

i actually came across that pic myself but i failed to find anywhere where it said the watt output. it says it only ships to within malaysia anyway.

also, i looked at the manual for the pc online and found that it has one pci slot available and thats fine. he said he only needs a card to take some of the load off the cpu so by no means is a high/mid level gaming card neccessary
thx for the help though.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: what psu fits?

Chances are his current PSU can support some low-end video card.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my PSU TekBubs New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-14-2009 07:32 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.