What Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 05:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 150
Default What Processor

What would be the best processor I could put on this board? http://www.igs.net/~ndaines/Qfiles/tr100.html

This is the board that is in my spare PC and I would like to upgrade the processor if that is even possible or worth it for this thing
__________________

sup2jzgte05 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

not worth it
__________________

__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 150
Default

That is what I thought, but I was not sure
sup2jzgte05 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 05:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Geeza you need to get a decent motherboard. This one is really bad. Socket 370? You in the ICE AGE? you can buy some cheap good motherboards. Personally i wouldnt even bother putting a processor on that mobo.

Soz for the Harsh advice but it's the reality.
asad1 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by asad1
Geeza you need to get a decent motherboard. This one is really bad. Socket 370? You in the ICE AGE? you can buy some cheap good motherboards. Personally i wouldnt even bother putting a processor on that mobo.

Soz for the Harsh advice but it's the reality.
I think you missed a key word in my post SPARE This is not my main PC, this is just one that has been laying around my closet for about the past 4 years or so and I decided I would hook it up and see what the deal is with it.
sup2jzgte05 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 09:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

I think the fastest that'll fit is a 1.4ghz Pentium 3 Tualatin. However, they can be pretty expensive, and compared to other CPUs it's just not worth it IMHO.

If the processor is fast enough, it might be able to be used as a dedicated server. It'd definitely be fast enough to install Linux on.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

http://www.bizrate.com/cpus_computer...3--34995-.html

this has a bunch of socket 370 processors. trekkie is right, the fastest is 1.4 ghz. i dont know if its worth $100 though.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.