What needs to go? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2005, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default What needs to go?

I have an upgrading question. I have a gaming computer:

evga nForce 4 Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1 GB Corsair RAM
Nvidia 6600 256MB

What needs to be upgraded first, if anything at all?
__________________

Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 11:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Looks fine for a lot of games as far as I know. Maybe the gfx card for a start.
__________________

Camden is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Id say graphics card 7800GTX or 7800GT and 2 gigs of RAM.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Yeah, that is what I thought. If I would have had the money I would have opted for a dual core processor as well. Thanks guys.
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Default

What type of PSU you are you using/planning to use in that system?
JoeStoll is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Well, I have a 450watt, but I have heard that the 7800 cards will use more power, especially if you use two in SLI, and I want to get the modular power supply anyway (ultra x-connect), which is 500, or 550 watts.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

ultra-x connect are the worst psu's ever invented, it's as if someone put a few double a batteries and neon lights in a see through box and called it a power supply. Don't get one, get from these brands. They make the best psu's on the market.

Thermaltake
Antec
Forton
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Also OCZ is pretty good isn't it? They have a.... 520 watt modular PSU if I am not mistaken.
ferris is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

thermaltake psu's die pretty easy dude.... read the link in my sig.. ste has a good explanation.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 04:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 67
Default

I personally stick to antec for all of my psu needs...
__________________

Orion_AurA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.