What motherboard is the best? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 05:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default What motherboard is the best?

Me and my friend are arguing about which motherboard is the best with the graphic card: XFX GeForce 7900GT 520M Xtreme 256MB GDDR3, PCI-Express, 520/1500Mhz, and now i want your opinion to settle this once and for all.

Which motherboard is the best:

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert, FW, nForce4 SLI, Socket-939, GbLAN, PCI-Ex16

OR

Asus A8N-SLI Premium, nForce4 SLI,Socket -939, Super Cooling pipe, PCI-Ex16
Attached Images
File Type: jpg i443859.jpg (23.3 KB, 44 views)
__________________

N3mo is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Not the Expert... (got a great story about it.) The DFI lanparty range is better than the ASUS A8N range (from an ASUS A8N range user.)

There is nothing bad about the ASUS range, mine is great plenty of overclocking features, but it is out done by the DFI's.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 07:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would get the non-expert version.

The DFI is the best if you want a lot of overclocking features.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

yo trifid tell the story!!!!
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

(I hoped that someone else would have told the story about the Expert, as I am not great with re telling stuff.)

Anyway, when people were hyped up about the Opterons quite a few people got the Expert DFI board to go with them. They proceeded with the starving the CPU of voltage and running system tests with out error correction on. Eventually there would be soo many errors that the system would then restart. The board then takes the iniative to pump loads of voltage through the CPU at post and then the CPU is dead.

Had a look: "a maximum CPU voltage of an almost unheard of 2.1v"
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.