what kind of RAM with my KT133 motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default what kind of RAM with my KT133 motherboard

Hi, I had a question regarding what kind of RAM is compatible with my motherboard. My motherboard is a "Calgary KT133." I know that I need PC133 SDRAM. Currently I have 2-64MB of single sided RAM. I want to add 256MB of RAM but I'm not sure if I should get single or double sided, and does it really make a difference if their single or double sided. anything else you guys can tell me would be a really big help. Also, I did searches on my motherboard and found nothing

Thanks
__________________

mattd is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

your motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-7ZM.

Also, in your search for compatible memory, you will most likely have to RMA sticks due to incompatibility. SDRAM is kinda tricky, it might look legit/compatible on paper, but when you get it home, it might not boot, or comes back errors on memtest86.

I suggest just going somewhere that has memory specifically for your motherboard, it will be more expensive, but less trouble in the long run.


Edit:
Just take a quick look at this page, it has a picture and detailed specs of it.
http://www.gigabyte.de/MotherBoard/P...ts_GA-7ZM.htm#
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

uzi9mm, thanks for your help. But what kind of RAM do you think I should get? and what do you mean by "you will most likely have to RMA sticks due to incompatibility."

thanks

Edit: and should i get one or two sided RAM sticks
mattd is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I mean that sticks of SDRAM are troubled with more incompatibility issues even though the specifications look like they will be compatible.

And RMA means that you will most likely spend more time returning sticks that fail to work. In my past expirences with SDRAM I tried to get a stick of 128mb for a dell, I went thru 3 sticks that were compatible on paper but they failed to boot/pass memtest. Now, if I ever need to upgrade memory for an old computer I buy RAM that is specifically sold for that computer. I end up buying pulled RAM off ebay.


And I have no idea what types of sticks that you need, try opening the computer and looking at the current configuration and see what those sticks are.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Alright I understand, thanks.

I opened up my computer and looked at the RAM and all I can find are a bunch of serial numbers and a sticker that says,"PC133NE64M-01." The problem is that there is soo much cheap RAM on ebay and I don't want to buy one that is not compatible.
mattd is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Anyone else have any input?
mattd is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Anyone else have any input?
mattd is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 01:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

i thought that single sided ram only came as 32 pin/ 72 pin variants. double sided started at 168 pins. so you should not be able to fit double sided into a single slot anyway.
before my time really.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
i thought that single sided ram only came as 32 pin/ 72 pin variants. double sided started at 168 pins. so you should not be able to fit double sided into a single slot anyway.
before my time really.
Thats what I'm not sure about, I have 2-64MB single sided sticks. I know that I can get 256mb single or double sided and thats why I'm confused.
mattd is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

because i can't post in the buy/sell forum, does anyone have any of the following RAM they are willing to sell?

manufacturer: Crucial Technology
Part Number: CT64M72S4D7E

Manufacturer: Kingston Technology
Part Number: KVR133X64C3/512

Manufacturer: Simple Tech
Part Number: S512L3NDC1

Manufacturer: Simple Tech
Part Number: SVM-E133/512

Manufacturer: Simple Tech
Part Number: SVM-E100/512

Manufacturer: Viking Components
Part Number: PC13364X72-CL3

Manufacturer: Kingston Technology
Part Number: KVR133Q/256R

Manufacturer: Kingston Technology
Part Number: KVR133X64C3/256

Manufacturer: PNY Electronics
Part Number: 256S100

Manufacturer: Simple Tech
Part Number: SVM-E133/256
__________________

mattd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.